Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre Companion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2020, 04:26 PM   #1
NYC_Biker
Junior Member
NYC_Biker began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2020
Device: ios
Configuring CC

I have calibre already configured to go to a URL HTTP://someURL.com:8080

If I launch this in a browser I am then prompted for user ID / pw and can then access my libraries on my Iphone from anywhere that I have internet access.

What is the proper setup for this inside CC?

Should the URL be manually configured and the port listed on the next line?

If I attempt to manually configure it I receive the ID/pw prompt but then it fails saying it cannot find the content server.

If I am home and on the same home network as my calibre content server it will connect assuming I've left the manual config blank.

Thanks!
NYC_Biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2020, 07:53 PM   #2
pwalker8
Grand Sorcerer
pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 6,983
Karma: 67431880
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Device: iPad Pro, iPad mini, Kobo Aura, Amazon paperwhite, Sony PRS-T2
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC_Biker View Post
I have calibre already configured to go to a URL HTTP://someURL.com:8080

If I launch this in a browser I am then prompted for user ID / pw and can then access my libraries on my Iphone from anywhere that I have internet access.

What is the proper setup for this inside CC?

Should the URL be manually configured and the port listed on the next line?

If I attempt to manually configure it I receive the ID/pw prompt but then it fails saying it cannot find the content server.

If I am home and on the same home network as my calibre content server it will connect assuming I've left the manual config blank.

Thanks!
Sounds like you are some sort of firewall issue.
pwalker8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 04-27-2020, 04:06 PM   #3
NYC_Biker
Junior Member
NYC_Biker began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2020
Device: ios
@Pwalker. I checked the firewall settings on my laptop and calibre is allowed through.

Is calibre designed for use on the home LAN (e.g my ios device must be currently connected to same network as calibre content server?
NYC_Biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 07:27 AM   #4
pwalker8
Grand Sorcerer
pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pwalker8 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 6,983
Karma: 67431880
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Device: iPad Pro, iPad mini, Kobo Aura, Amazon paperwhite, Sony PRS-T2
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC_Biker View Post
@Pwalker. I checked the firewall settings on my laptop and calibre is allowed through.

Is calibre designed for use on the home LAN (e.g my ios device must be currently connected to same network as calibre content server?
You should be able to connect outside as a content server rather than a wireless connection. Try connecting to calibre via the web browser using that URL. If you can't, then the issue is the firewall/router. Remember the IP that is exposed to the world isn't the same as the IP you use on your home lan. You should be able to test on your phone by turning wifi off on your phone and using the cell data.
pwalker8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing and configuring CC maddz Calibre Companion 6 05-02-2017 04:10 AM
Need Help configuring Calibre cliff.bailey Library Management 2 04-29-2015 04:25 PM
Configuring a better busybox twobob Kindle Developer's Corner 85 03-02-2013 12:30 AM
Configuring the HTML TOC? elibrarian Sigil 10 02-11-2013 04:38 PM
Configuring? rachangua PocketBook 3 05-15-2010 04:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:51 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.