Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 08-05-2011, 10:34 PM   #1
Brihat
Brihat began at the beginning.

Device: Asus ea-800, Asus dr-900, Onyx M90
Asking for help.... how to avoid LCD screens and still manage to get work done

Hello everyone,

I have been reading your threads for a while and have just joined in.

My main question.... I am a teacher and my eyes can't handle the LCD displays because of the back lighting and maybe the low refresh rates...

I am looking for devices where I can read pdf and doc files, and input text, preferably by handwriting (ie move away from the keyboard!) and convert them to text. Basically I do a lot of cutting and pasting between pdf and doc files, nothing heavy, in fact black and white/greyscale screens are fine. I also write tests, etc, on MS Word, no heavy graphics, just line art/charts sometimes.

If I can do all these steps on e-ink devices or any non-backlit devices, even if I have to split the work between two devices, that would really save my eyes!

I have read about e-ink devices but so far haven't found one that can handle half-decent note taking and basic web content browsing...

I have read about the Asus ea-800, the non-backlit screen should be fine, but can I convert notes I handwrite on it into text by using MS OneNote on a PC, or in another way? I heard so far this is not possible...

And then there is the Asus dr-900, looks nice (I don't mind not having a pearl screen) but I haven't found any descriptions about how it handles handwriting recognition, its speed, and saving text files.

Any recommendations for devices, and steps to take, I would really appreciate! It would make a major difference for me!

Thanks,

Brihat
Brihat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 02:11 AM   #2
HarryT
eBook Enthusiast