Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Onyx Boox

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2021, 01:29 PM   #1
rfog
Guru
rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 661
Karma: 2383012
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schiedam (The Netherlands)
Device: Lots of eInk devices and iOS stuff
Nova2 wifi not connecting to a FritzBox!

Just got a new FritzBox! Router. I set it as WPA2+WPA3 and all my devices connect via wifi except Nova2.

It says "Saved, Secured with WPA2 PSK" but does not connect.

However, Note 3 connects without any issue. And my 2 kindles, my 2 pocketbooks and my 2 kobo, except the Nova2.

Any idea why?
rfog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 02:53 AM   #2
lepau
Connoisseur
lepau doesn't litterlepau doesn't litter
 
Posts: 80
Karma: 136
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: M92
are both frequencis (2.5 and 5 GHz) activated on the Fritzbox?
lepau is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 09-11-2021, 03:03 AM   #3
rfog
Guru
rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 661
Karma: 2383012
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schiedam (The Netherlands)
Device: Lots of eInk devices and iOS stuff
Quote:
Originally Posted by lepau View Post
are both frequencis (2.5 and 5 GHz) activated on the Fritzbox?
Yes, with same name. What intrigues me a lot is that much older devices connect without any issue, devices only 2.5HGz and WPA2 only.

I enabled guests wifi, open, and connects, but I don't want have an open Wifi only for the Nova2 and any other foreign that discover here is an open wifi.
rfog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 04:15 AM   #4
menpe
Enthusiast
menpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovermenpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovermenpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovermenpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovermenpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovermenpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovermenpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovermenpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovermenpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovermenpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovermenpe exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcover
 
menpe's Avatar
 
Posts: 31
Karma: 16192
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Hungary
Device: Onyx Boox i86HDML+
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfog View Post
Yes, with same name. What intrigues me a lot is that much older devices connect without any issue, devices only 2.5HGz and WPA2 only.

I enabled guests wifi, open, and connects, but I don't want have an open Wifi only for the Nova2 and any other foreign that discover here is an open wifi.
Direct quote from a German site which might help:
"If your device still cannot be connected, this may be due to the PMF (Protected Management Frames) function. It offers enhanced protection during the connection setup phase, but not all devices support PMF. To deactivate the function for the FritzBox, for example, click on WLAN and Security in the menu and under "Additional security settings", activate the checkmark next to Support for protected registrations of WLAN devices (PMF) . At last, click Apply ."

If nothing else works, there might be the option to hide the guest network's SSID. It won't broadcast anymore, connections will be available by manually entering the network's ID. Depends on the router if this option is available tho.
menpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 04:24 AM   #5
rfog
Guru
rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 661
Karma: 2383012
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schiedam (The Netherlands)
Device: Lots of eInk devices and iOS stuff
Quote:
Originally Posted by menpe View Post
Direct quote from a German site which might help:
"If your device still cannot be connected, this may be due to the PMF (Protected Management Frames) function. It offers enhanced protection during the connection setup phase, but not all devices support PMF. To deactivate the function for the FritzBox, for example, click on WLAN and Security in the menu and under "Additional security settings", activate the checkmark next to Support for protected registrations of WLAN devices (PMF) . At last, click Apply ."

If nothing else works, there might be the option to hide the guest network's SSID. It won't broadcast anymore, connections will be available by manually entering the network's ID. Depends on the router if this option is available tho.
Two good ideas... Thanks.

Sadly, none works. I cannot disable PMF (it is grayed in router options) and there is no option to hide the guest wifi... However, if no other solution is available, I've enabled it as WPA2 only and seems being working. As I've enabled send emails on new devices connected, secure enough.
rfog is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 09-11-2021, 04:26 AM   #6
lepau
Connoisseur
lepau doesn't litterlepau doesn't litter
 
Posts: 80
Karma: 136
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: M92
- are the required Wfi protocols (a/b/g/n/x) activated?
- does the FB allow new devices to connect?
lepau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2021, 04:33 AM   #7
rfog
Guru
rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 661
Karma: 2383012
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schiedam (The Netherlands)
Device: Lots of eInk devices and iOS stuff
Quote:
Originally Posted by lepau View Post
- are the required Wfi protocols (a/b/g/n/x) activated?
- does the FB allow new devices to connect?
Yes (only option is enable/disable WiFi, or at least I haven't found where enable or disable different protocols).

And yes, I only have an email notification if a new device is connected.

Question is very older devices connect well. The only offending one is this Nova2.
rfog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2021, 07:48 AM   #8
lepau
Connoisseur
lepau doesn't litterlepau doesn't litter
 
Posts: 80
Karma: 136
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: M92
it's probably not the case here, but worth to mention:
I lately had a device that could only connect, if it was very close to the FB. Otherwise it could see the Wifi network, but not connect.
lepau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 07:23 AM   #9
rfog
Guru
rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rfog ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 661
Karma: 2383012
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Schiedam (The Netherlands)
Device: Lots of eInk devices and iOS stuff
Quote:
Originally Posted by lepau View Post
it's probably not the case here, but worth to mention:
I lately had a device that could only connect, if it was very close to the FB. Otherwise it could see the Wifi network, but not connect.
Sadly, it is not the case. It has plenty of signal. Router is only about 3 metres far.
rfog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 10:57 AM   #10
MicroDrie
Connoisseur
MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 438844
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: PC, Linux Mint, Tablet, and Telephone
The question is who, the Nova2 or the FritzBox! router says:

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfog View Post
It says "Saved, Secured with WPA2 PSK" but does not connect.
The Nova2 can be connected to the guest network. This means that you can connect and see in the DHCP list to which MAC address and which TCP/IP address the Nova2 connects.

The answer why should the Nova2 work on your guest network and not on your secure network is possible:
  • Your Nova2 is set to the wrong fixed address and/or subnet mask
  • Your Nova2 uses a certificate to connect.
You should therefore check if you see the MAC address of your Nova2 in the subnet overview of your DHCP server list if it is connected to the secure network. That's what the message seems to point to. If the MAC address is in the DHCP connection list, then you have a connection on the access layer and possibility of blocked by a security mechanism.

Either it has
  • a fixed IP address that matches within the subnet of your guest network (Wi-Fi setting must be DHCP to received correct network settings),
  • or you have ever worked with a certificate to establish a secure connection with a network provider. I can only find documentation for a Nova3 use of a certificate. Normally, I find the use of a certificate to make a secure connection only for a secure connection on public Wi-Fi access points.

Since your other devices do connect, you might consider a factory reset for your Nova2 to clean up your network connection configuration. First make a backup of your files on your Nova2.

So the first step is to see if the Nova2 is configured for DHCP,
Second step is check if certificate is used
Third step is make a backup and set the device back to factory default and configure your network in the Nova2
MicroDrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 11:16 AM   #11
Pajamaman
Wizard
Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Pajamaman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Pajamaman's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,448
Karma: 9917093
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Canada
Device: Onyx Nova
Can it connect to the WiFi? If not, try removing the WiFi password.
Pajamaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 02:51 AM   #12
lepau
Connoisseur
lepau doesn't litterlepau doesn't litter
 
Posts: 80
Karma: 136
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: M92
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfog View Post
Sadly, it is not the case. It has plenty of signal. Router is only about 3 metres far.
for th device it had to be about 30 centimeters
lepau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2021, 05:18 AM   #13
MicroDrie
Connoisseur
MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MicroDrie ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 438844
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: PC, Linux Mint, Tablet, and Telephone
Quote:
Originally Posted by lepau View Post
for th device it had to be about 30 centimeters
In that case, do you see then the MAC address in the DHCP list of the router?
MicroDrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to me IRiver Story HD not connecting to wifi stageson iRiver Story 13 06-03-2015 01:13 AM
Troubleshooting Connecting to wifi problems pamay Amazon Kindle 2 10-10-2012 11:15 PM
Classic Problem Connecting To WiFi Khan71 Barnes & Noble NOOK 6 08-30-2010 01:28 PM
Classic WiFi only Nook not connecting to network mirrrad Barnes & Noble NOOK 4 06-30-2010 07:52 PM
Problems connecting wifi DeGodefroi iRex 3 04-16-2008 10:07 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.