Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2012, 10:01 AM   #1
Moketa
Member
Moketa began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 22
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rosevale,NB
Device: Kobo Vox
Starting server?

I am running Win 7 with a Linksys Router (WRT54G),when I try to start Calibre's server I get the following message "calibre, version 0.8.50
ERROR: Failed to start content server: IOError("Port 8080 not bound on '192.168.1.100'",) anybody with any suggestions? I have been scanning forums but can't find any specific help.
Moketa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:07 AM   #2
PeterT
Grand Sorcerer
PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,230
Karma: 61896319
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Nexus 7, Clara, Touch, Tolino EPOS
Sounds like another program is running and already has port 8080 open.
PeterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 05-07-2012, 10:26 AM   #3
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,061
Karma: 39102633
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT(Fixed,New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moketa View Post
I am running Win 7 with a Linksys Router (WRT54G),when I try to start Calibre's server I get the following message "calibre, version 0.8.50
ERROR: Failed to start content server: IOError("Port 8080 not bound on '192.168.1.100'",) anybody with any suggestions? I have been scanning forums but can't find any specific help.
Get TCPVIEW from Microsoft (formerly from SysInternals) for a graphical, real time view of your TCP connections (ports)

But for a Quick and Dirty just set another port.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:41 PM   #4
toddos
Guru
toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.toddos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
toddos's Avatar
 
Posts: 695
Karma: 822675
Join Date: May 2010
Device: Kobo Aura, Nokia Lumia 920 (Freda)
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Get TCPVIEW from Microsoft (formerly from SysInternals) for a graphical, real time view of your TCP connections (ports)

But for a Quick and Dirty just set another port.
Or open an elevated command prompt and run "netstat -anb" to see a list of all open ports and sockets and their associated processes (the "n" parameter just skips DNS name resolution, since you don't care about that). Look to see if something's already listening on 8080, and if so either close that, change the port for that app, or change the port in calibre.
toddos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre Content Server and Windows Home Server 2011 HughMcC Calibre 8 10-01-2014 08:26 AM
Calibre-server port not open issue on Fedora server stueyboy Devices 0 08-17-2011 05:57 PM
Starting over? nobodyhome Amazon Kindle 8 06-29-2011 11:00 PM
Starting content server throws an error 55 valiant66 Calibre 4 06-09-2009 11:40 AM
Help Starting Server boram Calibre 7 06-04-2009 12:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.