Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Yesterday, 07:57 AM   #16
Tanjamuse
Wizard
Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!
 
Posts: 1,050
Karma: 5258
Join Date: Jan 2014
Device: none
How do I import from command-line?
Tanjamuse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:14 AM   #17
ilovejedd
hopeless n00b
ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,892
Karma: 7280200
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: in the middle of nowhere
Device: Paperwhite 3, iPad 9.7, iPad 12.9
What I do is create the empty library in Calibre GUI first (including any custom columns), then quit Calibre GUI. On Windows, I used the ff command line:

Code:
calibredb add --duplicates --recurse --library-path "[DriveLetter]:\path\to\your\calibre\library"
"[DriveLetter]:\path\to\ebooks\you\want\to\add"
By the way, I ran the same import test on a Windows 10 netbook with i3-3227U 1.9GHz, 4GB RAM and 320GB HDD (waiting for Black Friday sales on 1TB SSDs). Import from internal HDD to internal HDD took 3 1/2 freakin' hours. CPU load hovered at 3-5% and Disk 1 C: was constantly at 90-100% load.

Ran the import test again using the exact same netbook this time with source and destination both on a 256GB Samsung 830 SSD connected via USB 3.0. Import took a mere 21 min 41s. One CPU core was constantly maxed out and Disk 2 D: load was around 20%.

Both tests were performed with Windows Defender Real-Time Protection disabled.

Too sleepy last night (didn't expect the laptop HDD test to take 3.5 freakin' hours) but will be running a couple more import tests on the netbook today. This time, I'll be testing a portable USB HDD and a Samsung Fit flash drive.
ilovejedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:03 PM   #18
ilovejedd
hopeless n00b
ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,892
Karma: 7280200
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: in the middle of nowhere
Device: Paperwhite 3, iPad 9.7, iPad 12.9
Finished the netbook import tests on the portable HDD and flash drive.
WD Elements 1TB (~60% full): 34m 18s
Samsung Fit 32GB (~65% full): 33m 6s

Hmm, looks like unless Windows is on an SSD, best to avoid using the Windows OS drive for mass imports.
ilovejedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Empty file window when adding books...? patrik Calibre 2 06-19-2018 12:46 PM
Empty folders when adding books LucyOne Calibre 0 07-15-2017 06:27 AM
Adding Books to Library MikeHackney Calibre 11 10-16-2015 10:47 AM
Adding books already in library directory but not library database sfguy5874 Library Management 1 07-07-2012 04:33 AM
Adding empty books vbussell Calibre 4 12-10-2009 05:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.