Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > KOReader

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-24-2021, 05:24 PM   #1
Thefirebeast
Member
Thefirebeast began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2021
Device: Kindle 4 D01100
Kindle 4 Cant reach certain buttons issue and opening keyboard issue

KOReader version:20201.05
Device: Kindle 4 S/N prefix 902317 Model N01100

I can only press the first button in a row, pressing the right button does not move me to the buttons to the right of it so I'm unable to reach certain buttons like "ok" "apply" and in some cases "close" like in text editor.

Unfortunately this also prevents me from manually adding a ip address/port for calibre because
1: after entering the ip address i have to close the keyboard to get out of the ip box and into the port box but im unable to reopen the keyboard even after clicking on the port box and pressing the keyboard button(which is a issue that effects other menus also)

2: even if i could enter the port number, the inability to reach the other buttons prevents me from saving it
Thefirebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 11:10 AM   #2
pazos
cosiñeiro
pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 873
Karma: 1402765
Join Date: Apr 2014
Device: BQ Cervantes 4
Yeah, some widgets are not adapted to work without a finger or a point & click device.

A workaround could be install the app in another computer (android, linux, mac), setup your plugins there and copy the relevant configuration to your kindle's "reader.settings.lua"
pazos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 01:29 PM   #3
Thefirebeast
Member
Thefirebeast began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2021
Device: Kindle 4 D01100
Thanks, i will give that a try.
Thefirebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 02:12 PM   #4
Thefirebeast
Member
Thefirebeast began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2021
Device: Kindle 4 D01100
Haaah this is starting to seem impossible, i messed with the lua file but it seems it has some other issue as well. When i select anything in the OPDS catalog menu it just ask me if i want to turn on wifi, which is already on and working
Thefirebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 07:32 PM   #5
pazos
cosiñeiro
pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pazos ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 873
Karma: 1402765
Join Date: Apr 2014
Device: BQ Cervantes 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thefirebeast View Post
Haaah this is starting to seem impossible, i messed with the lua file but it seems it has some other issue as well. When i select anything in the OPDS catalog menu it just ask me if i want to turn on wifi, which is already on and working

https://github.com/koreader/koreader/issues/7881

Is that you?

I dunno. I had a Paperwhite 1 a long time ago and everything -network related- worked. Maybe some legacy kindles don't have the tools we expect for the platform and that network check fails ¿?.
pazos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 07:45 PM   #6
NiLuJe
BLAM!
NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
NiLuJe's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,888
Karma: 21070416
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris, France
Device: Kindle 2i, 3g, 4, 5w, PW & PW2; Kobo H2O & Forma
As the only actual non-touch device that's powerful enough to make using it actually bearable, I'd think the K4 has seen some fair amount of testing over the years, so, this sounds mildly surprising.

(I don't think I ever tried anything network related on mine, though, but, basically, if suspend works, network should, too).
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 12:46 AM   #7
Thefirebeast
Member
Thefirebeast began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 20
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2021
Device: Kindle 4 D01100
Yes that's me. I think I encountered too many errors in such a small amount of time that I ended up confusing myself. Looking at it again it seems the first post and the reply on that page were 2 different things. I will have to edit that or something when i wake up. The reply was my issue of getting a error code when trying to connect to calibre on my phone being solved. I had assumed that since I was having issues with calibre on both my tablet(turn on wifi) and my phone(error code) that when I found the solution to the issue on my phone that i had somehow also found the issue for the tablet as well.
Its possible that my current issue (wifi message) is solely a calibre issue as I have managed to use the news downloader without any major issues. Is there a way to enable some sort of debug log and if so would it help any?
Thefirebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting Kindle Keyboard Issue h2r2d2 Amazon Kindle 2 01-25-2018 10:15 PM
Firmware Update Old Issue kindle keyboard from 3.2.1 to 3.3 jeffreylifespan Amazon Kindle 0 02-05-2017 11:53 AM
Kindle keyboard issue MikeCL Amazon Kindle 7 02-22-2012 06:25 PM
Kindle and Overdrive - how to use? Opening windows issue netrate Amazon Kindle 8 01-04-2012 10:27 PM
Troubleshooting kindle 3g keyboard issue. please help. kindleuser6224 Amazon Kindle 5 12-28-2011 01:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.