Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre Companion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2019, 07:04 PM   #1
Crucis
Member
Crucis began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: Samsung Epic/Galaxy
Exclamation Connect Issue After Calibre 4.0.0 Update

I updated mu Calibre yesterday to 4.0.0. Last night I discovered a problem between it and my Calibre Companion on my Samsung Galaxy Tab A.

All was fine until I tried to see the book details and to get to the download button. Calibre Companion hung at that point. I had to kill the android app to get out of it.

I could connect and login to Caliber 4.0.0 from Companion. I could see the authors and book titles but that's all.

I use Calibre Companion a lot while I'm on the road. Has this issue been reported yet? Is there a workaround until it's fixed. I'm assuming the problem is with the Calibre content server since that was changed.

Calibre Companion version 5.4.3.3 (391).
Calibre 4.0.0
Crucis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2019, 08:51 PM   #2
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,042
Karma: 27923385
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
works (all content server details show) on my Tab A
cc 5.4.4.1 (392)
calibre 4.0

(and I never had issues during the beta 3.99.x )
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 10:59 AM   #3
Tanjamuse
Wizard
Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!
 
Posts: 1,241
Karma: 5306
Join Date: Jan 2014
Device: none
I can't connect wirelessly, I've tried downgrading to 3.48 but it still won't connect.
Tanjamuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 11:23 AM   #4
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,042
Karma: 27923385
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanjamuse View Post
I can't connect wirelessly, I've tried downgrading to 3.48 but it still won't connect.
There is a FAQ on the CC help site dealing with Wireless issues.
It may be just coincidence 4.0 happened.

Check your Network setting in Windows. It needs to be PRIVATE
Windows sometime flips that during updates
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 11:38 AM   #5
Tanjamuse
Wizard
Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!
 
Posts: 1,241
Karma: 5306
Join Date: Jan 2014
Device: none
I've looked through every setting I could find in win10 but still nothing. I got it to connect 2 but I have no idea how or why it won't connect again.
Tanjamuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 12:03 PM   #6
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,042
Karma: 27923385
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Are both ends wireless? One is in the 2.5G band, the other is in the 5G band?

Whenever possible: Use a CAT5 cable from the router/switch to Hosts, Printers (things that want speed and not changing networks between connections)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 12:33 PM   #7
Tanjamuse
Wizard
Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!Tanjamuse , Klaatu Barada Niktu!
 
Posts: 1,241
Karma: 5306
Join Date: Jan 2014
Device: none
I have no idea, but I think I may have discovered the culprit. I use a JS+ function to hide some of the columns I don't need to edit in the metadata tabs. When I choose to show everything it looks to be working fine.
Tanjamuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 01:28 PM   #8
Crucis
Member
Crucis began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: Samsung Epic/Galaxy
Update: Upgrading to Calibre 4.1.0 fixed my issue---whatever it was. There was nothing mentioned in the bux fixes for 4.1.0, though.

BTW, my O/S is Win7Pro and is fully up-to-date.

Crucis
Crucis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
c c 5.4.3.3, calibre 4.0.0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre update issue gtrobert Devices 2 04-05-2016 05:36 PM
Calibre Companion can't connect since last Calibre update seanny_crow Calibre Companion 1 02-18-2016 05:33 AM
Can't connect to Calibre Companion via wifi after update NSILMike Calibre 1 11-07-2014 03:12 PM
Companion can't connect after update to Calibre 2.1 inkdork Calibre Companion 2 09-01-2014 03:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.