Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2014, 03:08 PM   #1
haino
Connoisseur
haino began at the beginning.
 
haino's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: none
Adding own data into Calibre Catalogue

Not sure if this has been covered elsewhere. Apologies if it has but couldn't find it.

I give all my ebooks in my Calibre library an ebook number.
When I create a catalogue in Calibre is it possible for me to show my ebook number on the ebook description page for each ebook I include in the catalogue.
If so, how do I do it?

Thanks
haino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 03:31 PM   #2
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,498
Karma: 35353393
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT(Fixed,New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
If using a custom column for YOUR id#
You would need to make a custom version of (edit/customize) the catalog Template.
Copy the calibre2/resources/catalog folder into the resources folder of the Calibre configuration folder. This will take precedence over the default (and will not be overwritten with a calibre update)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 03:48 PM   #3
haino
Connoisseur
haino began at the beginning.
 
haino's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
If using a custom column for YOUR id#
You would need to make a custom version of (edit/customize) the catalog Template.
Copy the calibre2/resources/catalog folder into the resources folder of the Calibre configuration folder. This will take precedence over the default (and will not be overwritten with a calibre update)
Thanks for your reply. It sounds a bit complicated for me and not something I am familiar with.
I will see if I can do it a different way.
haino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 06:01 PM   #4
GRiker
Comparer of the Ephemeris
GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,497
Karma: 424697
Join Date: Mar 2009
Device: iPad
@haino, if you include Descriptions in your catalog, you can include the contents of a custom column next to the cover thumbnail. See this explanation in the calibre user manual.

G
GRiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 03:22 PM   #5
haino
Connoisseur
haino began at the beginning.
 
haino's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by GRiker View Post
@haino, if you include Descriptions in your catalog, you can include the contents of a custom column next to the cover thumbnail. See this explanation in the calibre user manual.

G
Thanks G. That works perfectly and is exactly what I wanted.
Many thanks
haino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 09:27 PM   #6
lazorbeam
Connoisseur
lazorbeam began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 70
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: iPhone; Fire HD
Anyone know if it's possible to create a new ToC entry/section based on a custom column in an epub catalogue?

I know you can choose one custom entry under the "Genres" drop down and this will show up organized in the ToC. I'd like to be able to browse by a second custom column as well. The prefixes will mark any selected tag/info but doesn't allow you to sort. The closest I came was making two catalogues with different settings (kind of silly).
lazorbeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External OPDS catalogue in Calibre bolton Calibre 1 09-05-2012 06:14 AM
Kindle AZW vector data lost upon adding to Calibre loyola Conversion 3 08-04-2012 11:19 AM
Calibre Catalogue, how do you use it (if at all)? paola PocketBook 15 02-07-2011 05:22 AM
Using Calibre to Catalogue? Jayko Calibre 1 01-04-2010 01:09 AM
Adding meta data picture to existing lrf with librprs500 Kypt Calibre 4 04-10-2008 07:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.