Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Kobo Reader

Notices

Old 01-07-2024, 11:39 AM   #1
Legoless
Legoless began at the beginning.

Device: Kobo Clara 2E
Some UX questions for Kobo users that use notes and highlights

Hi folks,

I am a hobbyist Python coder currently working on a Python application for Kobo devices that fetches notes and highlights from the Kobo and compiles them into a Markdown file, with notes and highlights ordered by their occurrence in the book and organized by chapter. The purpose of this application is to create a concise reference sheet for all notes and highlights of a particular book, to help people study and retain information more easily.

Currently, the app can do the following:

- Allow the user to batch export annotations for one book into a Markdown file or multiple books at once into separate Markdown files.

- Allow you to take notes directly to the Markdown file and keep these notes in the Markdown file the next time the Kobo's annotations are exported to the file.

My questions are:

- Would you find an app like this useful?

- Are you familiar with Markdown?

- What information would you like to see in the Markdown file that compiles all the annotations? Currently, it lists the book's title and series of annotations, which is just a series of notes and highlights grouped by the chapter of the book they belong to. Is this enough?

- What would an ideal feature list for an app like this include?

- Do you use any note-taking applications? If so, do they support Markdown? I am developing this app for integration with Joplin since it is Markdown-friendly and free.

Thanks for taking the time.
Legoless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2024, 12:06 PM   #2
Quoth
the rook, bossing Never.