Old 01-01-2011, 05:07 PM   #1
Zarathustra
Zarathustra began at the beginning.

Device: PB 903
PB 903 for scientific reading & bugs

PB 903 for scientific reading & bugs

I now have the PB 903 for some days. So, I want to share my experiences:

But first, I will start with my expectations:
1. I am a scientist. I have a large collection of PDF articles (> 2000) which I need for my daily work. They are sorted and categorized in a large database (JabRef). So, I want to make notes onto them and have them easily accessible.

2. I have to travel a lot. So, I am always running into trouble with subscriptions of newspapers etc because I am always at the wrong place.

3. Don´t blame me, but even if I am not travelling or not working, I still love to read books. Currently, I pack my stuff to settle over to asia and I have this huge pile of books. Shall I throw them away ? - or take them as EBooks with me ?

My Review / First impression:

First of all, the PB 903 leaves a solid impression on me. It sits well in my hands, it reacts appropriatly. The display is sharp and the contrast fine. The time to load a pdf is sufficiently low - in some cases it might take longer if you zoom in (I think eveyrthing has to be recalculated).

(Book) I did not test it so much as it is not the first priority.

(Minus - Book - PDF - Dictionary) But of course, I tested some of the functionality. The operation of the dictionary is simple. But I face a systematic system error / crash in the following case.
1. Open a book pdf.
2. Activate dictionary (select a word etc.)
3. Leave dictionary active
4. Go to the next page.
After this procedure, the PB 903 will hang and you will have to switch off and on again.

(Newspapers)
So, I downloaded some samples of newspapers. I am a bit dissapointed. Many newspapers do not offer sample issues (so I got a one page extract from the "Die Zeit" on request by email, a full version of the "Rheinische Post" can be found on their web page).