Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2017, 11:57 AM   #2611
knc1
Analog Forever!
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,261
Karma: 16999999
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lepricon View Post
Yup... I did a very stupid thing. I know.
I think it's time to order new oasis

And try serial port with the voyage.

Will it work if it stuck on bootloop? I need to get to FS and copy jar file with those 5-10 seconds while it is trying to boot?
Probably the easiest way would be to boot to the alternate OS ('diags') and then use that system to re-install either 5.8.10 or 5.8.11
I don't think you have time to write the old jar file in the few seconds the normal OS gives you.
So the only way (if you don't have Rescue Pack with the Cowards Rescue Pack extension) is to use the serial port.

The "DO_FACTORY_RESTORE" does not modify the system image files, so it will not "fix" the damaged system image.

The "hotfix" code (that is, the "bridge code" part of it) has a way to boot an "emergency script" during normal start up.
I am not sure if that will help in this situation.
I do not recall anyone providing example scripts.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-12-2017, 12:11 PM   #2612
Lepricon
Enthusiast
Lepricon began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2017
Device: Kindle Voyage
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Probably the easiest way would be to boot to the alternate OS ('diags') and then use that system to re-install either 5.8.10 or 5.8.11
I don't think you have time to write the old jar file in the few seconds the normal OS gives you.
So the only way (if you don't have Rescue Pack with the Cowards Rescue Pack extension) is to use the serial port.

The "DO_FACTORY_RESTORE" does not modify the system image files, so it will not "fix" the damaged system image.

The "hotfix" code (that is, the "bridge code" part of it) has a way to boot an "emergency script" during normal start up.
I am not sure if that will help in this situation.
I do not recall anyone providing example scripts.

Thank you. Will try serial port. I don't have RP and CRP on my kindle.

Didn't know that do_factory_restore doesn't modify system image files. Know that now
Lepricon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 12:18 PM   #2613
knc1
Analog Forever!
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,261
Karma: 16999999
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lepricon View Post
Thank you. Will try serial port. I don't have RP and CRP on my kindle.

Didn't know that do_factory_restore doesn't modify system image files. Know that now
If you have a Kindle that still works, you can look at the bridge code scripting (there is a copy in user storage).

If not, you can "open" the "hotfix' package with KindleTool and read the bridge code there.

IIRC, NiLuJe has the "emergency script" feature fairly well described in the comments of the bridge code.

But as I already mentioned -
I don't recall anyone posting examples of how to use it.
I think the easiest (and smallest) "emergency script" would be one that reboots the device into "Diags" system (two commands as I recall).
That should be small enough that you could push it onto the Kindle during that few seconds that user storage is available during boot-up.
The actual two commands would have to come from the Rescue Pack scripting (I don't recall what they are).

(I am lucky when I can remember 10% of what has been posted on this forum.)
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 12:28 PM   #2614
Lepricon
Enthusiast
Lepricon began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2017
Device: Kindle Voyage
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
If you have a Kindle that still works, you can look at the bridge code scripting (there is a copy in user storage).

If not, you can "open" the "hotfix' package with KindleTool and read the bridge code there.

IIRC, NiLuJe has the "emergency script" feature fairly well described in the comments of the bridge code.

But as I already mentioned -
I don't recall anyone posting examples of how to use it.
I think the easiest (and smallest) "emergency script" would be one that reboots the device into "Diags" system (two commands as I recall).
That should be small enough that you could push it onto the Kindle during that few seconds that user storage is available during boot-up.
The actual two commands would have to come from the Rescue Pack scripting (I don't recall what they are).

(I am lucky when I can remember 10% of what has been posted on this forum.)

Unfortunately user storage is not available... I can see the disk but it is unmounted.
I think after I did DO_FACTORY_RESTORE that happened.

But thank you for help. I think serial is the only way now. I found your recent post. Will try it.

Last edited by Lepricon; 10-12-2017 at 02:56 PM.
Lepricon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 04:51 PM   #2615
jstm
Member
jstm will become famous soon enoughjstm will become famous soon enoughjstm will become famous soon enoughjstm will become famous soon enoughjstm will become famous soon enoughjstm will become famous soon enough
 
jstm's Avatar
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 582
Join Date: Jun 2015
Device: kindle paperwhite 2014, IPAD, IPAD Mini, Iphone 6
Hello

PW2 Updated to 5.8.11, jailbreak seems ok, reinstalled Python and Screensaver Hack, "Las page" mode working OK and "Cover Mode" now working OK after several books reopen and restarts

Thanks

Last edited by jstm; 10-12-2017 at 04:55 PM.
jstm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 05:03 PM   #2616
knc1
Analog Forever!
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,261
Karma: 16999999
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstm View Post
Hello

PW2 Updated to 5.8.11, jailbreak seems ok, reinstalled Python and Screensaver Hack, "Las page" mode working OK and "Cover Mode" now working OK after several books reopen and restarts

Thanks
In other words, just about what one would expect after any Amazon update.
Thanks for the report.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 10:49 AM   #2617
Barty
doofus
Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Barty's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,192
Karma: 7348827
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: Voyage, PW2, Galaxy Tab S
Lepricon: can you still push DO_FACTORY_RESET to user storage and get to registration screen? Then choose a different country/language to avoid loading the bad jar file, perhaps.
Barty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 11:05 AM   #2618
knc1
Analog Forever!
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,261
Karma: 16999999
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barty View Post
Lepricon: can you still push DO_FACTORY_RESET to user storage and get to registration screen? Then choose a different country/language to avoid loading the bad jar file, perhaps.
Nice thought.
But Amazon loads all *.jar files on start-up, not just those it actual requires.
(Which is one of the reasons that picking a language does not force an immediate restart.)
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 11:42 AM   #2619
Lepricon
Enthusiast
Lepricon began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2017
Device: Kindle Voyage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barty View Post
Lepricon: can you still push DO_FACTORY_RESET to user storage and get to registration screen? Then choose a different country/language to avoid loading the bad jar file, perhaps.

Yeah, thought about it too. And felt sorry that haven't done it first time, when I was able to.
I cannot push any files to user storage because it is unmounted. 0 bytes. No media state.
When I pushed DO_FACTORY_RESET first time, kindle restarted and asked me language. I choose language with edited jar file.
Didn't know that kindle loads all jar files though. So no need to feel sorry about language choice
So I screwed up completely. Mostly because I have script to copy that damn jar file. I did it automatically when reinstalled all my extensions.
I already tried to connect thru serial. Without success. Need more tight connection. Tried it without soldering. Now I wait for conductive paint and 1.8v cable. I have 3.3v cable.

Last edited by Lepricon; 10-14-2017 at 11:57 AM.
Lepricon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 03:59 PM   #2620
Barty
doofus
Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Barty ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Barty's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,192
Karma: 7348827
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: Voyage, PW2, Galaxy Tab S
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Nice thought.
But Amazon loads all *.jar files on start-up, not just those it actual requires.
(Which is one of the reasons that picking a language does not force an immediate restart.)
Odd. I messed up editing a jar once and caused either a boot loop or "your kindle needs repair" message, I don't remember which. DO_FACTORY_RESET then selecting a different language allowed me to get into the home screen. Of course that was a few bytes, not an entirely different jar.
Barty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 04:49 PM   #2621
knc1
Analog Forever!
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,261
Karma: 16999999
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: No K1, PW2, KV, KOA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barty View Post
Odd. I messed up editing a jar once and caused either a boot loop or "your kindle needs repair" message, I don't remember which. DO_FACTORY_RESET then selecting a different language allowed me to get into the home screen. Of course that was a few bytes, not an entirely different jar.
Keep in mind that every build of the Java part of the Kindle system uses different (obfuscated) entry point names.

Editing a jar file (without changing the external interface names) will at worst case CVM to error out when those changes are required for execution (or error while trying to initialize).

The identical *.java source file, will have different external and entry point names on each build. No way is it going to just happen to work.
To get a 5.8.10 binary out of the build system and to get a 5.8.11 binary out of the build system requires at least two builds (and thus two sets of names).
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kindle touch hacks, paperwhite, python, screensavers, touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where are the Kindle Paperwhite screensavers stored? redrock Amazon Kindle 7 04-21-2014 06:11 AM
Troubleshooting My Kindle Touch does not show screensavers cazurrito Amazon Kindle 4 02-24-2013 06:20 AM
Kindle Touch Custom Screensavers yifanlu Kindle Developer's Corner 27 08-22-2012 07:51 AM
Kindle Touch - Broke my screensavers ZerMongo Amazon Kindle 2 06-09-2012 04:02 PM
Hack for screensavers on Kindle 2 KookyKathy Introduce Yourself 5 01-10-2010 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.