Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Development

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2023, 02:27 PM   #1
ownedbycats
Custom User Title
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ownedbycats's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,625
Karma: 61176603
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Libra H2O, formerly Aura HD
Hiding the command prompt window

Currently, closing the command prompt window also closes a run-from-source Calibre. Is there a way around this? Thanks.
ownedbycats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2023, 03:36 PM   #2
Quoth
the rook, bossing Never.
Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Quoth's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,160
Karma: 85874891
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ireland
Device: All 4 Kinds: epub eink, Kindle, android eink, NxtPaper11
Since forever, before Linux, on Linux
Quote:
You can as well run a process directly from the background using the ampersand, &
You want maybe to type disown before you close the console.

On windows you have various options.
1) Utility to start a program as a service
2) Wrap it in some sort of script
3) Start command and then some fu stuff to detach it?
4) cygwin/MSFU/Linux subsystem Then the Linux/Unix way works
Quoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2023, 03:43 PM   #3
ownedbycats
Custom User Title
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ownedbycats's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,625
Karma: 61176603
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Libra H2O, formerly Aura HD
Currently I just use a shell extension to hide it to system tray.
ownedbycats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2023, 04:24 PM   #4
gbm
Wizard
gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 2,082
Karma: 8796704
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kobo Clara HD,Hisence Sero 7 Pro RIP, Nook STR, jetbook lite
In a terminal type:
Code:
calibre & disown
That will detach calibre from the terminal.

Tested using Linux Mint 21.1 .

bernie

https://superuser.com/questions/1785...minal-entirely


Quote:
Originally Posted by ownedbycats View Post
Currently, closing the command prompt window also closes a run-from-source Calibre. Is there a way around this? Thanks.
gbm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2023, 04:36 PM   #5
chaley
Grand Sorcerer
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 11,742
Karma: 6997045
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Notts, England
Device: Kobo Libra 2
Are you on windows? This works for me to run calibre from source not in debug mode:
Code:
set CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM=C:\CBH_Data\calibre.git\calibre_dev\src
set CALIBRE_CONFIG_DIRECTORY=C:\CBH_Data\calibre.git\config_test_small
start calibre
You don't need the second set if your config dir is in the standard place.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2023, 09:28 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 43,858
Karma: 22666666
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Note that on linux the canonical way to do this with calibre is to run it as

calibre --detach

disown does not actually work correctly in that it still leaves the stdio file handles connected to the tty. And calibre does not ignore failures to write to stdout/stderr unlike many other programs.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 10:48 AM   #7
ownedbycats
Custom User Title
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ownedbycats's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,625
Karma: 61176603
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Libra H2O, formerly Aura HD
Windows user. I changed my bat file to use "start calibre" and it worked

Code:
@ECHO OFF

:: set envs
set CALIBRE_CONFIG_DIRECTORY=D:\AppData\Calibre
set CALIBRE_CACHE_DIRECTORY=D:\Temporary\Calibre\cache
set CALIBRE_TEMP_DIR=D:\Temporary\Calibre\temp
set CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM=D:\Documents\git\calibre\src

:: run calibre from source
start calibre
:: "c:\Program Files\calibre2\calibre.exe" 
:: "c:\Program Files\calibre2\calibre-debug.exe" -g

Last edited by ownedbycats; 02-01-2023 at 10:57 AM.
ownedbycats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 11:28 AM   #8
isarl
Addict
isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.isarl ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 287
Karma: 2534928
Join Date: Nov 2022
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Aura 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Note that on linux the canonical way to do this with calibre is to run it as

calibre --detach

disown does not actually work correctly in that it still leaves the stdio file handles connected to the tty. And calibre does not ignore failures to write to stdout/stderr unlike many other programs.
IF you run Linux, and if you run Calibre from source a lot, and if your desktop environment uses the XDG specifications, then you can also likely create a .desktop file wrapping up the full path to Calibre in its source tree, and the invocation options i.e. --detach.

This link has instructions on creating your own .desktop file, but steps 1–5 are about downloading a game to use as an example, so you can skip them entirely as you presumably already know that Calibre runs properly.
isarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 03:29 PM   #9
Quoth
the rook, bossing Never.
Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quoth ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Quoth's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,160
Karma: 85874891
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ireland
Device: All 4 Kinds: epub eink, Kindle, android eink, NxtPaper11
Or simpler still, if using a Menu that allows creation of icon on desktop or Place Bar by right Mouse menu. Create icon and then edit properties.
Quoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding covers from command-prompt? cheshyre Library Management 2 12-24-2018 06:54 PM
start 'fetch news' process from the command prompt poldem Calibre 2 03-17-2011 11:35 AM
Need help using mobidedrm - stuck on command prompt weeziepepper Kindle Formats 7 02-11-2010 11:22 AM
Switch Title and Author from command prompt Armaced Calibre 18 08-16-2009 03:31 PM
Launching Calibre from Command Prompt itimpi Calibre 7 04-02-2009 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.