Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Onyx Boox

Notices

Old 12-01-2018, 03:01 PM   #1
Spectralis
Enthusiast
Spectralis began at the beginning.

Device: Boox Max 2
New To Max 2

I'm new to Max 2. I've tried to learn as much as I can by reading this and other forums. I'd like some advice about buying accessories please.

1. Can I recharge the Max 2 using a powerbank and what kind should I buy? (Ideally I'd like to find a portable UPS that can power a mini PC as well as the Max 2 while on the move but that combination seems very difficult to find.)

2. I'd like to use the internet away from home and thought about buying a mobile wifi device but could I connect the Max 2 to a Windows smart phone and use its internet connection? That way I could use my SIM data via the phone instead of buying another device.

3. I have the hard cover for Max 2 but I'd like a laptop bag or equivalent that fitted the Max 2. Has anyone found a bag that fits the Max 2?

The Max 2 is really great for those of us who experience eye stain when using LED screens. I was doubtful about it's capabilities but since using it I'm impressed. I don't find the e-ink screen too slow for typing but it would be great if Onyx updated Max 2 so we could connect storage devices without using a workaround. I like to save docs to multiple devices just in case one copy becomes corrupted. My concern is that the Max 2 (or any device) isn't completely reliable when saving docs and the ability to save to a storage device would reduce the risk of losing a days edits. I also wish I could connect at home using ethernet and not wifi which isn't as secure.
Spectralis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 05:44 AM   #2
mdp
Wizard