Notices

Old 10-29-2014, 12:28 PM   #1
rosshalde
Zealot
rosshalde began at the beginning.

Device: nook
Sigil on Nook vs Sigil on Kobo vs Sigil on iBook

Ok, so as I said, I am new to all this.

I have experimented a bit on found some issues.

True/False - the same epub from Sigil can and will display differently on a Nook vs on a Kobo vs on iBook

1) Kobo and Nook show no blank pages and the TOC functions perfectly.
iBook has a blank page and for some reason has the TOC reference that blank page. As a general rule, does iBook have more quirks and in general suck?

2)Here is something else I actually see. On the Kobo, it seems to respect more of my stylesheet. I inserted code to tell it to leave no empty spaces.

body, div, p, h1, h2, h3, h4 { margin: 0; padding: 0; }
Kobo respects this, but still makes everything look pretty by providing nice line spacing.

Nook, did not respect the code and at the beginning of a new chapter (only) it provided a top margin. I can select in the tools area a button that says "Publisher Default" which then seems to respect the code about margins and puts the beginning of the chapter all the way at the top, but it then doesn't provide any assistance in making it look nice on the Nook. There is 0 spacing between lines so it is not nice to look at. When I try to adjust the spacing, it does, but then switches back to Nook takes control. All or nothing seems to be Nooks way of dealing with this level of control.

Suggestions? Should I just build in code in Sigil to give everything the desired line spacing? Then either the device will make it look nice, or if I use the Publisher Default, presumably it was also accept my spacing.....if so, is the code here

going to prevent me from having line spacing?
If not, what do I need to define in the css to get the desired line spacing.
If the above code will mess up line spacing, what do I need to change?
Here is my current css

sup{
font-size: 67%;
vertical-align: 33%;
}
sub{
font-size: 67%;