Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Server

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2018, 01:48 PM   #1
Snakebait
Junior Member
Snakebait began at the beginning.
 
Snakebait's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Oregon
Device: nexus7
How to create seperate accounts

Hi, I have installed Calibre on a Synology NAS DS415+. Everything seems to be working ok. My problem is I cannot figure out how to create seperate accounts for family in different parts of the country. I only see android apps that require a usb connection to my server to load the android device. Please help me configure individual read only type accounts. Thanks SB
Snakebait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 02:17 PM   #2
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 22,379
Karma: 22266194
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
I can't help with the non-traditional part of the install (PC being traditional)

Preferences: Sharing over the Net: is where you configure sharing stuff

Main: sets the port to listen on (you will need to port forward on your router for WANside access)
User accounts: is what you want. This allows (passworded) access to specific libraries, allows changes

Calibre companion (Android ans IOS), can connect to your IPort
Any browser (Win,Mac,Linux) can connect to your IPort
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 02:43 PM   #3
Snakebait
Junior Member
Snakebait began at the beginning.
 
Snakebait's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Oregon
Device: nexus7
Thanks for the quick reply. This was my first time trying to setup a program on my server and I am not familiar with ports and configuring them. I initialize the content server using port 8081 because 8080 is in use than I create a user account and restart the server. When I tell Calibre Companion to connect I get a screenshot circling the command "start content server". I also tried using the local folder 4001 and received the same thing.Is this a router modem issue? SB
Snakebait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 04:05 PM   #4
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 22,379
Karma: 22266194
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snakebait View Post
Thanks for the quick reply. This was my first time trying to setup a program on my server and I am not familiar with ports and configuring them. I initialize the content server using port 8081 because 8080 is in use than I create a user account and restart the server. When I tell Calibre Companion to connect I get a screenshot circling the command "start content server". I also tried using the local folder 4001 and received the same thing.Is this a router modem issue? SB
Don't confuse accounts for NAS access with Calibre accounts for Library access.

BTW I assumed that you have Calibre-server running as a service on your NAS

The router should only come into play IF you are accessing from a DIFFERENT network. I will also assume your wireless devices can access using DSfile (proves the access is not having peer blocking)

AFAIK CC only supports a few commercial 'clouds'
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 04:20 PM   #5
Snakebait
Junior Member
Snakebait began at the beginning.
 
Snakebait's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Oregon
Device: nexus7
I don't know if I am confusing NAS and Calibre accounts I don't think so. I have Calibre running in Docker so I am assuming everything I see is related to Calibre. I am able to open DSnote on another wifi so the modem is not the issue. What do you mean running as a service and how do you check this? SB

Edit: I am running Calibre in a container named aptalca/docker-calibre:latest

Last edited by Snakebait; 11-12-2018 at 04:26 PM. Reason: more info
Snakebait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 06:40 PM   #6
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 22,379
Karma: 22266194
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snakebait View Post
I don't know if I am confusing NAS and Calibre accounts I don't think so. I have Calibre running in Docker so I am assuming everything I see is related to Calibre. I am able to open DSnote on another wifi so the modem is not the issue. What do you mean running as a service and how do you check this? SB

Edit: I am running Calibre in a container named aptalca/docker-calibre:latest
I can't help you with that end. I just keep my tunes on my Slim (and a few backups)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 02:35 PM   #7
Snakebait
Junior Member
Snakebait began at the beginning.
 
Snakebait's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Oregon
Device: nexus7
I don't know what you mean by I keep my tunes on my slim when we are talking about books. Before I start brainstorming I want you to know I have been trying for over a month to get this working to no avail and after reading all the tips on the internet I decided to ask for help in the forums only to get told to do it myself. You're welcome to close this thread I will continue to load my books into kindle and transfer to family members via email. SB
Snakebait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 08:16 PM   #8
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 22,379
Karma: 22266194
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snakebait View Post
I don't know what you mean by I keep my tunes on my slim when we are talking about books. Before I start brainstorming I want you to know I have been trying for over a month to get this working to no avail and after reading all the tips on the internet I decided to ask for help in the forums only to get told to do it myself. You're welcome to close this thread I will continue to load my books into kindle and transfer to family members via email. SB
Simple: Some folk use the NAS for music and Video, others run a Calibre server on their Synology. I don't
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split Contents Into Seperate Books Jayfrizzy Sigil 8 08-29-2013 05:58 AM
Seperate Kindle 4 (T/nT) Forum Section? Novo Amazon Kindle 2 12-14-2011 08:01 AM
Seperate App to edit Metadata DownSouth Library Management 0 06-05-2011 03:52 PM
Can we please have seperate forums for each Nook device? windowsrefund Barnes & Noble NOOK 15 06-04-2011 04:33 AM
Storing different versions in seperate folders gandor62 Calibre 2 06-05-2009 11:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.