Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader

Notices

Old 10-22-2006, 11:11 AM   #1
bspill
bspill began at the beginning.

A Novice Question

I'm new to ebooks and this forum, but, I'm interested in purchasing the Sony Reader so that I can increase text size instead of reading some of the "mice type" in many books out there. I'm confused about the ability of the reader to handle PDF files. Can you download a PDF file and than adjust the size of the type?
bspill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 11:25 AM   #2
aleks
Connoisseur
aleks doesn't litteraleks doesn't litteraleks doesn't litter

Device: Rocket eBook & Sony Reader
First off let me say that I am new to the reader myself and asked the same questions before I bought my reader.

As I understand it, the reader has limited ability to increase the size of the font. Font size changes need to be made prior to loading a pdf file.

In essence, you have to take a pdf file, create a rtf file (text, word or some other) change the font create a new pdf file set to the size of the reader screen and install the result.

Another option is to rotate the screen so that you view the file in landscape format which allows for a corresponding increase in view size.
aleks is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-22-2006, 11:27 AM   #3
sammykrupa
Reader of the Reader
sammykrupa doesn't littersammykrupa doesn't litter

Device: Sony Reader PRS-500
Not on the Reader itself.

You can rotate the display so it shows half a page at a time, and that makes text in PDF files look bigger, but having to read that way is pretty annoying sometimes and it doesn't always make text big enough.

Try to use TXT or RTF when possible.

Sam Krupa
sammykrupa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 11:50 AM   #4
Leaping Gnome
Evangelist