Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > Miscellaneous > Introduce Yourself

Notices

Old 11-10-2010, 10:58 AM   #1
GeekyGal
Enthusiast
GeekyGal is a rising star in the heavensGeekyGal is a rising star in the heavensGeekyGal is a rising star in the heavensGeekyGal is a rising star in the heavensGeekyGal is a rising star in the heavensGeekyGal is a rising star in the heavensGeekyGal is a rising star in the heavensGeekyGal is a rising star in the heavensGeekyGal is a rising star in the heavensGeekyGal is a rising star in the heavensGeekyGal is a rising star in the heavens

Device: Kindle FireHD, Kindle3G, iPad, MacBook, iRex Illiad (ret)
Calibre Catalog Creation & Kindle 3. What am I missing?

Hello. I'm new to Calibre and think it is genius. The catalog feature is very nice. I run Calibre 7.27 on a Windows Vista 64 machine, and transfer books to a Kindle 3. Hank you in advance for any help.

I think I am missing a VERY basic step. When I first set up my Calibre Library, I loaded about 800 books and set up about 70 tags. Generated a catalog. GREAT. Since then, I have moved books off the K3 to edit metadata and put them back on, acquired new books, etc. The problem is that the catalog is perfectly sorted by Genre, then Author (and Series within each Author) UNTIL the more recently edited / acquired books, or the ones on which I had edited the tags, which follow the initial batch in the catalog. A - Z, then B, etc. within the Genre portion of the catalog only. The rest sorts perfectly.

I must be doing something wrong with the tags from which the Genres are created. I have added, edited and deleted tags to try to fix this.