Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2015, 11:54 PM   #1
Kix
Junior Member
Kix began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2015
Device: Nook BNRV300
Calibre does not see Nook

Hello All. I'm a newbie here. Hope someone can help me out.

I recently upgraded from Windows 8 to Windows 10. And now Calibre does not 'see' my Nook. I tether my Nook with USB cable. I have verified the cable is good. In Preferences I have verified that "Send To Device" icon is in right column of the 'toolbar when connected to a device'. There are no entries in the "devices Ignored' section. There is no other device connected to the laptop. Verified that laptop does see the Nook. I would appreciate some help. Thanks Kix


OS Windows 10
Calibre v 2.40
Nook Simple Touch mod. BNRV300 v. 1.2.1
Kix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 12:49 AM   #2
PeterT
Grand Sorcerer
PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,511
Karma: 66676475
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Nexus 7, Clara, Touch, Tolino EPOS
So far no one has figured out what the OS upgrade from 7 / 8 / 8.1 to 10 does to the USB system. Something it does though appears to bugger up how the OS presents Nooks / Kindles / Kobos to calibre.

Try following the advice in the stickers post here regarding calibre not detecting my device and post the logs it asks for.
PeterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-06-2015, 12:58 AM   #3
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 64,176
Karma: 104145061
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, iPad 4, iPhone SE 2020, PW3
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterT View Post
So far no one has figured out what the OS upgrade from 7 / 8 / 8.1 to 10 does to the USB system. Something it does though appears to bugger up how the OS presents Nooks / Kindles / Kobos to calibre.

Try following the advice in the stickers post here regarding calibre not detecting my device and post the logs it asks for.
I have upgraded my laptop and my Surface Pro 2 to Windows 10 and both see Kindles and Kobos no problem.
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 01:25 AM   #4
PeterT
Grand Sorcerer
PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,511
Karma: 66676475
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Nexus 7, Clara, Touch, Tolino EPOS
Sigh... See all the other posts people have made who DO have this issue...
PeterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 01:51 AM   #5
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 64,176
Karma: 104145061
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, iPad 4, iPhone SE 2020, PW3
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterT View Post
Sigh... See all the other posts people have made who DO have this issue...
One idea is to try to get the Windows 10 USB drivers from the motherboard maker or from the USB chipset maker and see if that fixes the problem.
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-06-2015, 11:57 AM   #6
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,796
Karma: 41849005
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Aura2, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterT View Post
Sigh... See all the other posts people have made who DO have this issue...
Time for folk to list (and see if we can Nail this):

1) Laptop or Desktop << Top level filter

2) Brands (Dell, Toshiba...)

3) model series. (Vostro, Satellite...)


There may be a pattern.


I remember having trouble at work running Paradox 1.16 DOS on PCXT (8080) clones.
All were assembled in house.
All had DTK motherboards and the same Video card.

Turned out. The Motherboard Revision was 1 level different (we just made sure the Paradox crowd got the good ones from then on.)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 08:00 PM   #7
Kix
Junior Member
Kix began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2015
Device: Nook BNRV300
Thank you all for trying to help. I really appreciate it.
Please understand that I'm not real computer savvy. So if there's a suggestoin for me to try please use layman's terms and maybe I'll understand.

The computer is a Samsung laptop with Intel Core processor and 64 bit OS. Added infor is in the original post.

Before reporting to Calibre (assuming I can figure out how to report) I'm hooing someone here has had and fixed this issue. Again, thanks for the help.
Kix
Kix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 10:06 PM   #8
Kix
Junior Member
Kix began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2015
Device: Nook BNRV300
I found the following which may be of interest. I tired the instructions and it does cause "DEVICE" and "SEND TO DEVICE" to display in the toolbar. However, it does not properly display titles on my Nook nor does it allow to add or delete books from the Nook. Maybe it will help someone else.

Kovid Goyal (kovid) wrote on 2015-10-04: Re: calibre bug 1502610 #1
You are sufferring from the curse of the windows 10 upgrade, it causes
windows to not report the Kindle as a removable drive. The only
known solution is to do a clean install of windows 10. If you dont want
to do that, you can workaround the problem by using the connect to
folder function in calibre (click the connect/share button and choose
the documents folder on your kindle).
Kix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre into Nook B&N library on nook??? TheCrazier Calibre 4 08-31-2018 06:08 PM
Can Calibre Companion Download books from Nook to Calibre? Rika24 Library Management 5 10-03-2013 01:55 AM
Calibre New Nook kvald23 General Discussions 3 06-14-2011 12:07 AM
Nook support in Calibre and conversion from Kindle to Nook Color? doowopper Devices 4 04-27-2011 05:21 PM
Calibre and nook sdspieg Calibre 11 03-27-2010 10:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:20 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.