Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Formats > Workshop

Notices

Old 11-24-2009, 04:43 PM   #1
chooky
chooky began at the beginning.

Device: Astak Pocket Pro
help with formatting text files

I have recently become the proud owner of a PocketPro and have been trying to transfer the many books that I have onto it. I have found that there are some txt files (created I think from original nonDRMed lit files which don't seem to work on the reader) but the formatting is all wrong. There are extra carriage returns at tyhe end of every line and then extra ones as well. I have tried textify but that doesn't remove all the extra carriage returns. Short of manually having to do this, can anyone advise if there is an easier way? Any advice would be gratefully accepted. I am not a computer programmer and lots of DOS commands would need to be carefully explained.
chooky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 05:23 AM   #2
Kellhus
Kellhus began at the beginning.

Device: none
Well, if you have MS Word you could use the "Find and Replace" Function. Just select a paragraph that you would like to change, then go to "Finad and Replace", in "Find:" type: "^p" and enter " " (space) in Replace. You would have to do it for each paragraph unfotunetely but there's no other way to do it. You could also make a small macro button and then just select a paragraph and change it with a button click.
Kellhus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 11-26-2009, 04:16 AM   #3
Solitaire1
Samurai Lizard