Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Onyx Boox

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2021, 05:54 PM   #1
bingo619
Member
bingo619 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2016
Device: Kindle
NotePro rebooting to bootloader freezes

Hi,

Trying to root my NotePro V3.0, everything went fine except I could not get it into the bootloader mode, tried both adb command and recovery. What exactly does the bootloader look like?

Basically the UI freezes when I run adb reboot bootloader. Recovery freezes with a line "rebooting to bootloader".

Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	8F12DD44-A758-4101-9802-8D9505126840.jpeg
Views:	115
Size:	277.3 KB
ID:	185044  

Last edited by bingo619; 01-30-2021 at 12:45 AM. Reason: Adding model name to be more recognizable
bingo619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2021, 04:52 AM   #2
yokos
Pac-Man catched my iLiad.
yokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with others
 
yokos's Avatar
 
Posts: 756
Karma: 2699
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany; next to Baltic Sea
Device: 1st gen iRex iLiad with 2nd ed. battery/case
Code:
fastboot reboot
reboots your Note Pro. Was this your intention to ask?

There is no GUI at adb. It's just a terminal window on your PC.
Do you have a magisk patched bootimage?

Last edited by yokos; 01-29-2021 at 05:07 AM.
yokos is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 01-29-2021, 05:46 AM   #3
bingo619
Member
bingo619 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2016
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by yokos View Post
Code:
fastboot reboot
reboots your Note Pro. Was this your intention to ask?

There is no GUI at adb. It's just a terminal window on your PC.
Do you have a magisk patched bootimage?
No, I meant I could not even get it into bootloader/fastboot mode.

Yes, I do have the patched img. Just need to flash it in which i could not without the bootloader mode.
bingo619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 04:23 AM   #4
Galunid
Zealot
Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.Galunid writes the songs that make the whole world sing.
 
Posts: 118
Karma: 40420
Join Date: Apr 2016
Device: KPW3, Kobo Clara HD, Onyx Boox Nova 2
It doesn't look like anything, but you should be able to send commands. I'd suggest you wait like 30 seconds after `adb reboot bootloader`. Then the device should be in fastboot mode, but there is no indication on the device's screen. `fastboot devices` should see it though
Galunid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 06:13 AM   #5
yokos
Pac-Man catched my iLiad.
yokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with othersyokos plays well with others
 
yokos's Avatar
 
Posts: 756
Karma: 2699
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany; next to Baltic Sea
Device: 1st gen iRex iLiad with 2nd ed. battery/case
It could be a missing driver problem. Device drivers for adb and fastboot are needed.

Last edited by yokos; 01-30-2021 at 06:16 AM.
yokos is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 01-30-2021, 06:23 AM   #6
winstonma
Connoisseur
winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.
 
Posts: 58
Karma: 119108
Join Date: Nov 2013
Device: Onyx Boox Nova
Quote:
Originally Posted by bingo619 View Post
Hi,

Trying to root my NotePro V3.0, everything went fine except I could not get it into the bootloader mode, tried both adb command and recovery. What exactly does the bootloader look like?

Basically the UI freezes when I run adb reboot bootloader. Recovery freezes with a line "rebooting to bootloader".

Any ideas?
This is not a bug. Actually you are using a Rockchip device and it doesn't support fastboot command at all. If you want to dump anything to a rockchip device, you need to use RKDevTool. I wrote a guide on how to deal with the rockchip backup and restore in my medium article. Please feel free to take a look. In a nutshell you need to install rockchip driver and download the RKDevTool to flash boot.img onto your Note Pro.

If you want to try the magisk method please get a backup your boot.img in advance or you may get your device into an unbootable state. I got no luck on the Magisk method but I eventually got my device rooted.

Last edited by winstonma; 01-30-2021 at 06:28 AM.
winstonma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 11:26 AM   #7
lvlrdka22
Junior Member
lvlrdka22 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 30
Join Date: Aug 2018
Device: Onyx Boox Note
Quote:
Originally Posted by winstonma View Post
This is not a bug. Actually you are using a Rockchip device and it doesn't support fastboot command at all.
That's not true. Most/all Rockchip devices have the rockusb mode, set to boot to that mode with reboot bootloader, so they use a different command for fastboot, reboot fastboot.
That said, you might as well use rockusb unless you're booting a boot image without flashing it.
lvlrdka22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2021, 10:14 PM   #8
bingo619
Member
bingo619 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2016
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by lvlrdka22 View Post
That's not true. Most/all Rockchip devices have the rockusb mode, set to boot to that mode with reboot bootloader, so they use a different command for fastboot, reboot fastboot.
That said, you might as well use rockusb unless you're booting a boot image without flashing it.
Thanks a lot.

I got into fastboot by
Code:
adb reboot fastboot
Then follow the procedure at the bottom of link to Unlock your Device via Fastboot
bingo619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 12:51 AM   #9
bingo619
Member
bingo619 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2016
Device: Kindle
update:

managed to flash the patched boot img. Now the NotePro can not boot into the system, can only boot to the System Recovery.

What should I do now?
bingo619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 03:38 AM   #10
winstonma
Connoisseur
winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.
 
Posts: 58
Karma: 119108
Join Date: Nov 2013
Device: Onyx Boox Nova
Quote:
Originally Posted by bingo619 View Post
update:

managed to flash the patched boot img. Now the NotePro can not boot into the system, can only boot to the System Recovery.

What should I do now?
There are several ways
  1. Go your Note Pro into bootloader mode - I am not sure if you can find the option from the recovery menu. But you can get your Note Pro in the recovery mode by turning off your device, holding the home button and power button together. Just connect Note Pro with your PC and see run RKDevTool.
  2. Flash the working boot.img
    • It would be lucky if you have a backup of your original boot.img, or
    • you can obtain the boot.img using the decryptBooxUpdateUpx. In a nutshell, you need to
      • Download the firmware from the official website
      • Use decryptBooxUpdateUpx to convert the .upx file into the .zip file
      • Get the boot.img from the .zip file.

Last edited by winstonma; 01-31-2021 at 03:49 AM.
winstonma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 06:24 AM   #11
bingo619
Member
bingo619 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2016
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by winstonma View Post
There are several ways
  1. Go your Note Pro into bootloader mode - I am not sure if you can find the option from the recovery menu. But you can get your Note Pro in the recovery mode by turning off your device, holding the home button and power button together. Just connect Note Pro with your PC and see run RKDevTool.
  2. Flash the working boot.img
    • It would be lucky if you have a backup of your original boot.img, or
    • you can obtain the boot.img using the decryptBooxUpdateUpx. In a nutshell, you need to
      • Download the firmware from the official website
      • Use decryptBooxUpdateUpx to convert the .upx file into the .zip file
      • Get the boot.img from the .zip file.
Thanks.

I accidentially flash root.img to ox00000000, now it would not boot into the recovery nor system.

Anyone has got backups?
bingo619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 07:01 AM   #12
bingo619
Member
bingo619 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2016
Device: Kindle
can anyone please dump a NotePro backup for me? Very frustrating.
bingo619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 10:08 AM   #13
winstonma
Connoisseur
winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.
 
Posts: 58
Karma: 119108
Join Date: Nov 2013
Device: Onyx Boox Nova
Quote:
Originally Posted by bingo619 View Post
can anyone please dump a NotePro backup for me? Very frustrating.
Did you flash your boot.img using RKDevTool or fastboot?

I am using Nova and I guess it should be compactible as I am using the same Rockchip chip as Note Pro.
  1. Download my dumped image. It contains 3 files.
  2. Open RKDevTool (I am not sure if you still be able to use RKDevTool) and flash the following:
    1. uboot 0x2000
    2. misc 0x4000
    3. resource 0x6000
    I dumped my system and couldn't find the loader partition (0x0000) so I am not sure if my image solves your problem.

Last edited by winstonma; 01-31-2021 at 10:26 AM.
winstonma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 05:43 PM   #14
bingo619
Member
bingo619 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2016
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by winstonma View Post
Did you flash your boot.img using RKDevTool or fastboot?

I am using Nova and I guess it should be compactible as I am using the same Rockchip chip as Note Pro.
  1. Download my dumped image. It contains 3 files.
  2. Open RKDevTool (I am not sure if you still be able to use RKDevTool) and flash the following:
    1. uboot 0x2000
    2. misc 0x4000
    3. resource 0x6000
    I dumped my system and couldn't find the loader partition (0x0000) so I am not sure if my image solves your problem.
@winstonma Thank you very much.

I used fastboot to flash the patched img initially.

I have your files, did not work. Do you happen to have the loader and parameter starting from ox0000? I think I override them accidentally.

BTW, which rockchip are Nava and Note Pro using? Your partition config seems not matching of any of these from https://github.com/rockchip-linux/to...evTool_Release.

Thanks again.
bingo619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 08:56 PM   #15
winstonma
Connoisseur
winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.winstonma equals 42.
 
Posts: 58
Karma: 119108
Join Date: Nov 2013
Device: Onyx Boox Nova
Quote:
Originally Posted by bingo619 View Post
@winstonma Thank you very much.

I used fastboot to flash the patched img initially.

I have your files, did not work. Do you happen to have the loader and parameter starting from ox0000? I think I override them accidentally.

BTW, which rockchip are Nava and Note Pro using? Your partition config seems not matching of any of these from https://github.com/rockchip-linux/to...evTool_Release.

Thanks again.
No I used RKDumper and tried to dump the partitions in my device. But they don't have 0x0000. I guess 0x0000 is the LOADER partition if it is corrupted then I am afraid you won't be able to get back to the LOADER mode.
winstonma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with damaged bootloader in EB600 toptnc Netronix 0 04-23-2014 11:38 AM
The new Kindle Fires have a locked bootloader Jessica Lares Kindle Fire 17 09-18-2012 06:11 PM
Gen3 Bootloader reload options readerdm Gen3 Developer's Corner 7 03-14-2011 08:20 AM
Gen3 Can't Get to Bootloader readerdm Bookeen 7 07-28-2010 02:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.