Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Formats > Workshop

Notices

Old 10-09-2007, 04:31 PM   #1
Goshzilla
Zealot
Goshzilla has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.Goshzilla has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.Goshzilla has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.Goshzilla has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.

Device: Rocket Ebook 1150
Any good Perl scripters out there?

I have the software installed on my comp but I have never written a perl script before. I have done programming in Java and C++, so I naively thought that a program to hyphenate every word in a paragraph with a softhyphen(one that does not show up unless the word is positioned at the end of a line) would be easy. Turns out it isn't. But luckily it was throughly researched by Donald Knuth when he wrote his LaTex program.

There is a perl command equivalent that uses the LaTex hyphenation scheme

http://www.gemjack.com/gems/text-hyp...xt/Hyphen.html

I would like to be able to write a simple script that can take an entire html file, hyphenate the body's text with softhyphens and then save it back to the html file. The reason why this interests me is that for alot of ebooks I make for the Gemstar have alot of blank spaces between words due to fullscreen justification.

note: I would prefer to work in html since the texts I use are Project Gutenberg texts, and I convert them to html using the Gutenmark tool.
Goshzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 05:46 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre