Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Android Devices > enTourage eDGe > enTourage Archive

Notices

Old 03-03-2011, 01:01 PM   #1
mlevin77
Edge User

Please help me decide - a few questions about EnTourage eDGe features

I am about to go on an unexpected trip and it's important that I be able to bring a bunch of PDFs and Kindle eBooks with me for reading. I was about to get an iPad when I found out that it would be difficult to read in bright outdoor light. I then started thinking about a hardware Kindle and then came across the EnTourage eDGe which might be the best of both worlds. I have to make this decision in a few days. Can someone please enlighten me, since I'm new to the EnTourage eDGe world:

1) can the tablet side be shut off and folded back when reading the e paper side? how's the battery life under those conditions?

2) does the e paper side view PDFs? How are they transferred to the device?

3) does the e paper side read Kindle content? I saw a post about it but are there step-by-step instructions and how well does this work? I don't know much about the Android world.

4) is either side able to do read-out-loud from PDFs or Kindle content?

thank you very much in advance.

Mike

Old 03-03-2011, 01:26 PM   #2
borisb
Edge User

1) The LCD screen can be turned off as can the wifi, both of which will boost battery time but not as much as putting the eDGe to "sleep" (by closing it). Since the same CPU powers both sides, you can't turn one side "off" completely. The two sides can be position a full 360 degrees.

2) Yes. You can transfer them by email, Dropbox, USB memory stick, external hard drive, SD card, etc.

3) No. You need to install the Kindle for Android app on the LCD side, which works great.