Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2019, 08:56 AM   #376
-beluga-
Junior Member
-beluga- began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2013
Device: paperwhite
Hi, not sure this is the ideal place to post this but -

I just upgraded from Calibre 3.48.0 (32bit) to Calibre 4.1.0 (64bit). Currently trying to run in parallel to see if plugins and all work.

However, starting the 64bit app (also from exe in Program Files) still opens the 32bit app (in Program Files (x86))

How do I get the 64bit app to start?

Thanks
-beluga- is offline  
Old 10-09-2019, 09:37 AM   #377
jackie_w
Grand Sorcerer
jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,113
Karma: 11967540
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Device: PRS-350, Kobo: Aura6", H2O, GloHD, KA1, ClaraHD, Forma
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackie_w View Post
In calibre 3.99.7 this feature works for images in <img> tags but not for images between <svg> tags, unless it's the cover image.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Forgot about svg images, easy fix.
@kovid,

Did I misunderstand your reply? Except for the cover image, an image wrapped in <svg> tags does not have the 'View image', 'Copy image' options in v4.1 Viewer.
jackie_w is offline  
Old 10-09-2019, 10:18 AM   #378
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,816
Karma: 27735644
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by -beluga- View Post
Hi, not sure this is the ideal place to post this but -

I just upgraded from Calibre 3.48.0 (32bit) to Calibre 4.1.0 (64bit). Currently trying to run in parallel to see if plugins and all work.

However, starting the 64bit app (also from exe in Program Files) still opens the 32bit app (in Program Files (x86))

How do I get the 64bit app to start?

Thanks
Are you sure? Because a normal x64 install puts its files into Program files (and 32Bit goes into the (x86) one.
The status line in Calibre only gains a: [64bit]
the rest is identical looking
theducks is offline  
Old 10-09-2019, 04:38 PM   #379
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 14,725
Karma: 12617294
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by -beluga- View Post
Hi, not sure this is the ideal place to post this but -

I just upgraded from Calibre 3.48.0 (32bit) to Calibre 4.1.0 (64bit). Currently trying to run in parallel to see if plugins and all work.

However, starting the 64bit app (also from exe in Program Files) still opens the 32bit app (in Program Files (x86))

How do I get the 64bit app to start?

Thanks
You should have two desktop shortcuts. One for the 64bit version the other for the 32 bit version - the names will be something like calibre 64bit - E-book management and calibre - E-book management. What do you see in the Start Menu 'C' group, you should see two folders with those names?

Do you have a Calibre 2 sub folders in Program Files and Program Files (x86) folders?

Did you install the two versions in their default locations? Did you change deselect any Product Features, especially the one that creates a desktop shortcut?

BR
BetterRed is offline  
Old 10-10-2019, 10:41 AM   #380
-beluga-
Junior Member
-beluga- began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2013
Device: paperwhite
Hi guys. Yes I know, and that's what I am trying to say...

But I found my issue

I had Calibre set to auto-start and hide the icon, so the 3.48 process was still running after closing the UI... Starting the 64 bit exe just 'activated' the running process to open the UI. Killing the 32 bit process and starting the 64 bit exe indeed starts the 64 bit process - and saves my sanity.

Cheers.
-beluga- is offline  
Old 10-11-2019, 01:32 PM   #381
deback
Book E d i t o r
deback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the end
 
Posts: 312
Karma: 31930
Join Date: May 2015
Device: Laptop
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
@deback: I cannot replicate that.
This is in regards to the slowness in the File Preview in the Editor.

I upgraded to 4.1, and the problem still exists. I don't know how my system could be the problem, since this problem has never existed in any versions before 4.0. I have no AV software, and my system had all the best hardware parts when I built it in November 2017.

Just wanted to let you know that the problem still exists after each edit--the file preview window will bounce from using no .css file to using the current .css file (so, I've decided to just ignore it).

Thanks.
deback is offline  
Old 10-16-2019, 06:39 AM   #382
Katja_hbg
Connoisseur
Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.
 
Posts: 80
Karma: 118898
Join Date: Oct 2015
Device: Kobo Glo HD (landscape), Kobo Aura One
I like to do some debugging as I successfully did in version 3.
Setting up 4.1 32bit run well on my windows 7 netbook when started from the icon.
Changing the environment variable to the 4.1 src and starting debug breaks with error message about missing bs4 at line 7 in BeautifulSoup.py

Any idea how I can fix that?

Also when I seach for bs4 I cannot found but that may be due to my lack of knowledge.
Bzw change environment back to version 3 starts that well in debug mode.
Katja_hbg is offline  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:02 AM   #383
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 53,642
Karma: 49384553
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Aura H2O, Sony PRS-650, Sony PRS-T1, nook STR, iPad 4, iPhone 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katja_hbg View Post
I like to do some debugging as I successfully did in version 3.
Setting up 4.1 32bit run well on my windows 7 netbook when started from the icon.
Changing the environment variable to the 4.1 src and starting debug breaks with error message about missing bs4 at line 7 in BeautifulSoup.py

Any idea how I can fix that?

Also when I seach for bs4 I cannot found but that may be due to my lack of knowledge.
Bzw change environment back to version 3 starts that well in debug mode.
Given that Calibre 4 is no longer in beta and it up to version 4.1, I suggest you start a new thread with your problem.
JSWolf is offline  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:47 AM   #384
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 35,332
Karma: 12711906
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
bs4 is present in both 3.48 and 4. But make sure you are using version 2 src with version 3 binaries and version 4 src with version 4 binaries as the two wont mix.
kovidgoyal is offline  
Old 10-16-2019, 01:24 PM   #385
Katja_hbg
Connoisseur
Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.Katja_hbg 's ceiling is 100% spider-free.
 
Posts: 80
Karma: 118898
Join Date: Oct 2015
Device: Kobo Glo HD (landscape), Kobo Aura One
thanks Kovid for the hint.
After cleanup of the PATH variable (keep vers 4 and remove vers 3) debugging of new version run perfect.

And sure I will open a new thread for any further question.
Katja_hbg is offline  
Old 10-17-2019, 03:15 AM   #386
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,744
Karma: 13743230
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Icarus Illumina XL HD, Nexus 7
Moderator Notice
Beta testing calibre 4 complete. Thread Closed.
DoctorOhh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Android App] Calibre Companion 1.7 Beta testing Adoby Devices 31 09-07-2012 10:13 PM
Kobo Wifi beta testing mdclements Kobo Reader 0 10-15-2011 03:49 PM
Beta testing libprs500's new GUI kovidgoyal Calibre 409 01-07-2009 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.