Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2018, 05:17 PM   #1
RG9400
Junior Member
RG9400 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2018
Device: None
Starting calibre as a Windows Service via NSSM

My end goal is to be able to use calibredb to read and write to my books directory on Windows 10 boot. Currently, I've saved a shortcut of calibre.exe in my startup folder which launches the interface when I log in. This works fine, but I would like to accomplish this without a required log in. I use NSSM for the rest of my services, but pointing NSSM at the executable does not work. When launching via NSSM, nothing happens.

Anyone else figured this out? Should I use NSSM for the server only? My settings launch the server when I start the application.
RG9400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2018, 11:11 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,722
Karma: 10215826
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
IIRC there were a few posts from people that managed to run calibredb.exe as a service by using a wrapper for it. Some googleing should help you find those posts.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 06-18-2018, 09:29 AM   #3
drjenkins
Addict
drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.drjenkins ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 227
Karma: 1567890
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: Kindle Voyage
I use NSSM as the wrapper to run caliber as a service on my 2012R2 server. I have never tried doing so on Windows 10.

I prefer the old server interface, so I am still running 2.85.1 64bit on the server. I did test NSSM with version 3.x and it ran with no difficulties.
drjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 12:00 PM   #4
RG9400
Junior Member
RG9400 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2018
Device: None
I would prefer to use NSSM since everything else I use is running via that. Do you use it to launch calibre.exe or calibre-server or calibredb? I would appreciate it if you could tell me how you configured it when you tested to see if it would work with 3.x.

On a separate note, if calibre is running, is there a way to run the metadata download and count pages automatically when adding books? Right now, I have to manually run them each time via the GUI.
RG9400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 08:01 PM   #5
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 11,468
Karma: 10584684
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by RG9400 View Post
I would prefer to use NSSM since everything else I use is running via that. Do you use it to launch calibre.exe or calibre-server or calibredb? I would appreciate it if you could tell me how you configured it when you tested to see if it would work with 3.x.
Did you as Kovid suggested, search the Calibre forum?

I just did a search for "NSSM", one of the several threads listed documents how a user runs calibre-server as a service using NSSM Ψ²

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 06-18-2018, 09:15 PM   #6
RG9400
Junior Member
RG9400 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2018
Device: None
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterRed View Post
Did you as Kovid suggested, search the Calibre forum?

I just did a search for "NSSM", one of the several threads listed documents how a user runs calibre-server as a service using NSSM Ψ²

BR
Actually, I did read through the threads, but I think I am getting confused with Calibre and all of the components. The latest thread states this:

"I consider the contents of this thread obsolete for at least two reasons:
Calibre 3 no longer supports running the content server and GUI simultaneously."

Does this mean I need to run calibre.exe via NSSM or calibre-server.exe or calibredb.exe? In another thread, Kovid had mentioned just running calibre.exe (by putting it in the startup folder), and letting that start calibre server as a sort of best practice. The threads, on the other hand, seem to be more geared towards launching calibre-server via NSSM
RG9400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 10:45 PM   #7
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 11,468
Karma: 10584684
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
@RG9400 - I'm only aware of people running calibre-server.exe as a service, either via NSSM, AlwaysUp, or Powershell commands. Not heard of anyone running calibre.exe or calibredb.exe as a service.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 11:00 PM   #8
RG9400
Junior Member
RG9400 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2018
Device: None
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterRed View Post
@RG9400 - I'm only aware of people running calibre-server.exe as a service, either via NSSM, AlwaysUp, or Powershell commands. Not heard of anyone running calibre.exe or calibredb.exe as a service.

BR
It works, but does this mean that running the GUI will cause problems? Should I keep "Run server automatically when calibre starts" checked?
RG9400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 12:13 AM   #9
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,722
Karma: 10215826
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You should never rin the main calibre program and the server simultaneously. Either run the main program and its embedded server. Or run calibre-server.exe and shut it down before starting the main program.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 12:35 AM   #10
RG9400
Junior Member
RG9400 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2018
Device: None
That's what I figured, which leads me to trying to run calibre.exe via NSSM instead.

calibre-server.exe works via NSSM, but calibre.exe does not. I just point it at the .exe and use --start-in-tray as an argument (I tried it without as well)
RG9400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 12:38 AM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,722
Karma: 10215826
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
I highly doubt, calibre.exe is going to work via NSSM, it assumes access to the windowing subsystem.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 12:57 AM   #12
RG9400
Junior Member
RG9400 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2018
Device: None
Is there any other way that you know of to run calibre.exe as a Windows Service?
RG9400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 12:59 AM   #13
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,722
Karma: 10215826
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Nope, sorry.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre 3 as service auto start on Windows BigRobert Related Tools 10 03-18-2018 03:37 PM
Trouble starting Calibre on Windows 10 FaJenko Devices 5 12-01-2015 04:35 PM
Windows Indexing Service and Calibre Performance Giuseppe Chillem Calibre 8 04-09-2013 07:01 PM
portable Calibre starting problem from CD/DVD through autorun in windows priyasen Devices 1 01-31-2013 08:20 AM
Error when starting Calibre 0.7.39 on Windows 7 32bit tamzilla Calibre 20 01-14-2011 09:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.