Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-15-2020, 03:25 PM   #1
MrSlow&Steady
Connoisseur
MrSlow&Steady began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 68
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: Kindle
I Downloaded The Latest Edition of Calibre And I Can't Get It Open (MacBook)

I don't know what happened. I downloaded the new version of Calibre but it can't open. Is anyone else facing this issue?

UPDATE: NEVER MIND I GOT IT TO WORK I USED AN ALTERNATE LINK TO RE-DOWNLOAD THIS

ANOTHER UPDATE: IT GOT SHUT DOWN AND WHEN I TRIED TO OPEN IT IT COULDN'T WORK

Last edited by MrSlow&Steady; 10-17-2020 at 01:05 AM.
MrSlow&Steady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 01:05 AM   #2
MrSlow&Steady
Connoisseur
MrSlow&Steady began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 68
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: Kindle
Uh I hate to bump this but it's not working again. Like it shut down for some reason and every time I try to bring it back up it isn't working
MrSlow&Steady is online now   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-17-2020, 02:39 AM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 39,794
Karma: 17764952
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
what does doesnt work mean? the process doesnt run? is it in activity monitor? is there a crash report?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 02:07 PM   #4
MrSlow&Steady
Connoisseur
MrSlow&Steady began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 68
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
what does doesnt work mean? the process doesnt run? is it in activity monitor? is there a crash report?
I click on the icon to open it but it never opens.
MrSlow&Steady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 02:30 PM   #5
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ownedbycats's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,069
Karma: 13086534
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
Did you check whatever the Mac version of the Task Manager is to make sure it isn't stuck running in the background? Calibre only lets you run one instance at a time.
ownedbycats is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-17-2020, 03:37 PM   #6
MrSlow&Steady
Connoisseur
MrSlow&Steady began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 68
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownedbycats View Post
Did you check whatever the Mac version of the Task Manager is to make sure it isn't stuck running in the background? Calibre only lets you run one instance at a time.
Yes and it still doesn't work.

Like I clicked on the icon, it briefly appears, and when it fails to open as per usual, it disappears from the Activity Monitor.
MrSlow&Steady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 05:14 PM   #7
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 64,019
Karma: 103820051
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, iPad 4, iPhone SE 2020, PW3
Disable your AV and try again. If that causes Calibre to work, then you'll need to uninstall whatever AV you run.
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 10:43 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 39,794
Karma: 17764952
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Open Terminal.app and run its as

/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/calibre-debug -g


and post the output
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 01:44 PM   #9
MrSlow&Steady
Connoisseur
MrSlow&Steady began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 68
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSWolf View Post
Disable your AV and try again. If that causes Calibre to work, then you'll need to uninstall whatever AV you run.
Sorry what's AV?
MrSlow&Steady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 01:45 PM   #10
MrSlow&Steady
Connoisseur
MrSlow&Steady began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 68
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Open Terminal.app and run its as

/Applications/calibre.app/Contents/MacOS/calibre-debug -g


and post the output
Oh shoot it got it to open. Thanks!

There'll be an update addressing this glitch right?

EDIT: But this is only 5.2 though. It didn't work for 5.3

Last edited by MrSlow&Steady; 10-18-2020 at 01:57 PM.
MrSlow&Steady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 01:58 PM   #11
ownedbycats
Wizard
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ownedbycats's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,069
Karma: 13086534
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSlow&Steady View Post
Sorry what's AV?
Antivirus. Though I was under the impression that malware isn't quite as common for Macs.
ownedbycats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 03:42 PM   #12
MrSlow&Steady
Connoisseur
MrSlow&Steady began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 68
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2019
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownedbycats View Post
Antivirus. Though I was under the impression that malware isn't quite as common for Macs.
I see. Thanks for telling me. Not sure if I can disable it though.
MrSlow&Steady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 03:47 PM   #13
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,656
Karma: 41845871
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Aura2, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSlow&Steady View Post
I see. Thanks for telling me. Not sure if I can disable it though.
You don't disable it

You whitelist (exclude) specific apps or folders from ACTIVE scans
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 04:08 PM   #14
DNSB
Bibliophagist
DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DNSB's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,846
Karma: 76463049
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vancouver
Device: Kobo Forma, Clara HD, Nexus 7 HD, iPad Pro, Tolino epos
This may not be your problem but when I updated my Mac VM to 10.15.7, for some reason, the Security and Privacy preference switched the Allow Apps downloaded from: to App Store from App Store and Identified Developers. Switching back to App Store and Identified Developers allowed me to run the updated calibre install after clicking on Open in the dialog that popped up.
DNSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 07:40 PM   #15
johnoz123
Enthusiast
johnoz123 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 29
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: Kindle Voyage
@kovidgoyal (FYI)

I had a similar issues with a Macbook and an iMac MacOS 10.15.7 + Calibre 5.* I reverted to
Calibre 4.23 and it fix the problem.

The problem: Calibre not opening after update but opening later after 2 - 3 attempts. Once opened it reopened okay but failed to open when I clicked on an epub or awz file. It would start to open and then stop (close)
johnoz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre, glitches

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
k4 can't open .txt files with latest firmware erdos Kindle Developer's Corner 8 12-13-2015 05:36 AM
PRS-T1 Cannot open books downloaded with Dropbox kossmoboleat Sony Reader 3 10-29-2012 10:00 AM
Help please...can't open downloaded library books Deebarney Astak EZReader 2 11-01-2009 11:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.