Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > KOReader

Notices

Old 09-12-2021, 05:20 AM   #1
imminent.clause
imminent.clause began at the beginning.

Device: Multiple
KOReader Won't Keep Settings

OK, I'm new to KOReader. It seems like many people love this for reading ebooks. But I'm baffled. I must not understand how this software works. I have two problems, which are related: Portrait Mode, and Settings.

I'm running this on two devices, a Pixel C and an Xperia Tablet Z. Both give me the same issues:

When I open the app, no matter what I've got the device screen set to (usually locked to portrait), it opens landscape. I go to the top menu, select screen then rotation. And I get the 180, 90, 0, 90 choices. These seem to be relative to the current rotation rather than absolute. But I will be in landscape, and select a 90 rotation, and it turns upside-down instead. So I play whack-a-mole for a while, until I finally get it into Portrait mode. Sometimes, it's upside-down portrait, but I found if I try to change that, whack-a-mole starts over. So I just turn the device instead.

But, eventually, I get it into Portrait, and can open a book. I'll page through it a bit, work out that I need to fiddle with page dimensions (set to "height", and "page" and some third setting I'm forgetting right now) or the page turns will slowly move the text out of the viewing area. But I manage to get what I want.

So after all that, I have the software running exactly the way I want. Only when I close it and open it again, none of those preferences are retained. So my questions:

1) How do I get it into Portrait mode?

2) How do I set Portrait mode as the default?

3) Similarly, how do I set the page viewport preferences as the default?

It would be nice if these were stored per-book, since not all books have the same aspect ratio.