Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Development

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2018, 09:16 PM   #1
EngelEatos
Junior Member
EngelEatos began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2018
Device: iPad
Setting up Calibre development environment

Hi,

I want to set up a development environment. (Archlinux, zsh)

Code:
#!/bin/sh
export CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM="/home/rias/calibre/src"
calibre-debug -g
but it doesn't use the source folder. There is no asterisk beside the version.
Quote:
asterisk after the version number in the GUI window, indicating that you are running from source.
calibre-debug output
Spoiler:
Code:
calibre 3.17  embedded-python: False is64bit: True
Linux-4.15.2-2-ARCH-x86_64-with-glibc2.2.5 Linux ('64bit', '')
('Linux', '4.15.2-2-ARCH', '#1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Feb 8 18:54:52 UTC 2018')
Python 2.7.14
Linux: ('', '', '')
Interface language: None
Successfully initialized third party plugins: FanFicFare (2, 22, 0)
Turning on automatic hidpi scaling
devicePixelRatio: 2.0
logicalDpi: 48.0 x 48.1263157895
physicalDpi: 78.9126213592 x 79.2832369942
Using calibre Qt style: True
Starting up...
Looking for desktop notifier support from: org.freedesktop.Notifications
org.freedesktop.Notifications found in 0.0 seconds
Started up in 1.61 seconds with 0 books


I hope somebody can help. If you need further information, I will try to provide it.

Thanks

Last edited by EngelEatos; 02-13-2018 at 09:26 PM.
EngelEatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 09:36 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,205
Karma: 10205090
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
If you want to use CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM you have to install the binary calibre install from https://calibre-ebook.com/download_linux not the arch calibre package.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 02-13-2018, 09:46 PM   #3
EngelEatos
Junior Member
EngelEatos began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2018
Device: iPad
OMG. thank you so much. such a little change made it work
EngelEatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 12:20 PM   #4
eschwartz
Ex-Helpdesk Junkie
eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
eschwartz's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,239
Karma: 83049305
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Beaten Path, USA, Roundworld, This Side of Infinity
Device: Kindle Touch fw5.3.7 (Wifi only)
BTW if you're using the community package you could just use CALIBRE_PYTHON_PATH and CALIBRE_RESOURCES_PATH instead, see the contents of /usr/bin/calibre.

Also CALIBRE_EXTENSIONS_PATH if you're really interested in hacking the C extensions, but at that point I say just do like I do and install the calibre dependencies, but not calibre itself, and use `python2 setup.py develop` to install the source code. See https://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibr...master/INSTALL

(Ironically I don't usually use the binary package I uploaded to [community]. )

Last edited by eschwartz; 04-22-2018 at 12:24 PM.
eschwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up a development environment ... BWinmill Kobo Developer's Corner 27 06-16-2014 08:21 AM
"Setting up a calibre development environment" documentation suggestion trying Development 1 03-30-2014 10:25 PM
calibre VMWare development environment kovidgoyal Calibre 30 12-30-2009 12:43 PM
Setting up Mac Calibre development environment? pdurrant Calibre 2 01-06-2009 07:10 AM
Setting up development environment tompe OpenInkpot 9 08-27-2008 02:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.