Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > Miscellaneous > Lounge

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-19-2017, 06:02 PM   #31336
DMcCunney
New York Editor
DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DMcCunney's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,944
Karma: 13658901
Join Date: Aug 2007
Device: Palm TX, Azpen A746, Entourage Pocket eDGe, HP Slate 7 4200en
Quote:
Originally Posted by cromag View Post
Last night Windows 10 updated itself ... and my Firefox windows shrank down to a speck on the screen. It was literally a few pixels wide by a few pixels high. I knocked myself out to the point that I could open a postage stamp sized window, then enlarge it, but it would disappear as soon as I tried to do anything with it.
That's bizarre. I have Win10 Pro here. It got the Creators Update, and the Fall Creators Update.

Firefox was completely unaffected.

Which Win10 version do you have, and which Firefox release?
______
Dennis
DMcCunney is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 11-20-2017, 01:56 AM   #31337
cromag
Surfin the alpha waves ~~
cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
cromag's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,389
Karma: 373888888
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Jersey
Device: Jetbook Lite & Mini, Nook STR, Kobo, Hanvon N516, Kindle 2, Androids
I think I have the same version of Windows: Windows 10, version 1709. One thing that has caused some problems for Firefox in the past was my video card, an Nvidia GT 750. It was causing previous versions of Firefox to go black until I disabled hardware acceleration.

Long story short, I was able to get it working tonight. Skipping over the obvious first steps (that didn't work), I finally ran Firefox in Safe Mode (held the Shift key down while starting the program). When I did that it opened in the postage stamp window, but I could drag the borders to a usable size. After I did that I was able to use the browser normally without having it disappear.

I went into the Add-ons menu. I only had two add-ons since the Quantum conversion, and they were disabled in Safe Mode. I manually disabled them, confirmed the browser still worked, and exited.

I then opened the browser normally. it opened in the postage stamp window again, but I could drag the borders to a usable size. After I did that I was able to use the browser normally without having it disappear. I then went back to the Add-ons menu and re-enabled the two add-ons. The browser continued to work, and so far all looks good.


Except ... I made Chrome my default browser for the duration of the problem. Now I'm trying to make Firefox my default browser again. But, when I'm in the Windows Settings window, Windows isn't presenting Firefox as an option. I tried a quick re-install of Firefox, but that didn't fix it.

Last edited by cromag; 11-20-2017 at 05:22 AM.
cromag is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 09:46 AM   #31338
Katsunami
Grand Sorcerer
Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katsunami ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Katsunami's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,721
Karma: 30934615
Join Date: Mar 2008
Device: KPW1, KA1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitch View Post
I mean...WTF is wrong with people???? I have HAD IT.
They're entitled and whiny, because our society has become so politically correct that everything is possible, and everybody is shpesjial.

A few days ago my sister called me. She had a new phone (don't know if she bought it or got it with a new subscription). She wanted me to tell her, on top of my head, how to install her e-mail and banking app. So I tell her I can't; I don't know that stuff right off the bat. Told her to come over here and bring all her data.

"What data?'
- "e-mailaddress you want set up, username, password, etc..."
"I don't know any of that."

So I told her it would need to be reset, and she started whining "why all of this was even necessary, and why people in the store wouldn't install her phone and transfer all her data and set up her e-mail and banking app and... and.... WHY do I have to do everything MYSELF? Why do I need to know all of this?"

Maybe... because it's _your_ phone, and _your_ data?

I _almost_ told her to go and ********. Instead I said I'd take a look at it, and reset passwords where necessary, and that's it. I'm not going to jack around trying 50 user/pass combinations for each app.

It's always the same with people trying to install a new computer/phone/tablet. I don't even mind doing it for them. I understand not everybody is that tech savvy, and it's little trouble for me, *IF THEY HAVE ALL THE DATA*, and they never have. NEVER.
Katsunami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 12:00 PM   #31339
DMcCunney
New York Editor
DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DMcCunney's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,944
Karma: 13658901
Join Date: Aug 2007
Device: Palm TX, Azpen A746, Entourage Pocket eDGe, HP Slate 7 4200en
Quote:
Originally Posted by cromag View Post
Except ... I made Chrome my default browser for the duration of the problem. Now I'm trying to make Firefox my default browser again. But, when I'm in the Windows Settings window, Windows isn't presenting Firefox as an option. I tried a quick re-install of Firefox, but that didn't fix it.
Win10 is annoying about that. It has a bad habit of trying to impose its defaults. I've had to tell it several times, for instance, that I want to use the Irfanview graphics viewer for all graphic file types it supports

Tell Firefox to assert itself as default browser.

Click the icon with three horizontal bars at the top right. Select Options from the drop-down menu. Select General in options. The first entry should have a line to the effect that Firefox is not your default browser, and an option to tell it to set itself as default.

Do that, and see if it fixes your problem.
______
Dennis
DMcCunney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 12:52 PM   #31340
Cinisajoy
Just a Yellow Smiley.
Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Cinisajoy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Cinisajoy's Avatar
 
Posts: 17,578
Karma: 77381283
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Texas
Device: K4, K5, fire, kobo, galaxy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katsunami View Post
They're entitled and whiny, because our society has become so politically correct that everything is possible, and everybody is shpesjial.

A few days ago my sister called me. She had a new phone (don't know if she bought it or got it with a new subscription). She wanted me to tell her, on top of my head, how to install her e-mail and banking app. So I tell her I can't; I don't know that stuff right off the bat. Told her to come over here and bring all her data.

"What data?'
- "e-mailaddress you want set up, username, password, etc..."
"I don't know any of that."

So I told her it would need to be reset, and she started whining "why all of this was even necessary, and why people in the store wouldn't install her phone and transfer all her data and set up her e-mail and banking app and... and.... WHY do I have to do everything MYSELF? Why do I need to know all of this?"

Maybe... because it's _your_ phone, and _your_ data?

I _almost_ told her to go and ********. Instead I said I'd take a look at it, and reset passwords where necessary, and that's it. I'm not going to jack around trying 50 user/pass combinations for each app.

It's always the same with people trying to install a new computer/phone/tablet. I don't even mind doing it for them. I understand not everybody is that tech savvy, and it's little trouble for me, *IF THEY HAVE ALL THE DATA*, and they never have. NEVER.
Actual question asked "Why did I lose Atlas Shrugged when I changed accounts? "
Simple answer: because it is not on your account.
Note: The device in question was a Nook.
Cinisajoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 01:11 PM   #31341
DMcCunney
New York Editor
DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DMcCunney's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,944
Karma: 13658901
Join Date: Aug 2007
Device: Palm TX, Azpen A746, Entourage Pocket eDGe, HP Slate 7 4200en
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinisajoy View Post
Actual question asked "Why did I lose Atlas Shrugged when I changed accounts? "
Simple answer: because it is not on your account.
Note: The device in question was a Nook.
And that sort of thing is why I keep local copies of books, managed by Calibre. I don't need them stored in the cloud and vulnerable to account issues.
______
Dennis
DMcCunney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 01:18 PM   #31342
Hitch
Bookmaker & Cat Slave
Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Hitch's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,771
Karma: 54886904
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Device: K2, iPad, KFire, PPW, Voyage, and NookColor. 2 Droid, 1 Win8 ePUB rdrs
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMcCunney View Post
That's bizarre. I have Win10 Pro here. It got the Creators Update, and the Fall Creators Update.

Firefox was completely unaffected.

Which Win10 version do you have, and which Firefox release?
______
Dennis
I doubt that this is related in any way--not being a Steely-eyed coder, like you dudes--but I have a similar b*tch with Chrome and Win 8.1. On my laptop. For reasons I don't "get," my Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga will suddenly shrink Chrome down to some infinitesimal size, and worse, moves it nearly off-screen--I have to go hunt for it. Then I have to play "catch the pixel" to grab some piece of it and manually resize it.

Drives me NUTS. FWIW, it seems to happen a lot when I've had the laptop running for a few days, but I've had it happen for no apparent reason upon a cold boot, too.

grrrrrrrr.

Hitch
Hitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 01:34 PM   #31343
DMcCunney
New York Editor
DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DMcCunney ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DMcCunney's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,944
Karma: 13658901
Join Date: Aug 2007
Device: Palm TX, Azpen A746, Entourage Pocket eDGe, HP Slate 7 4200en
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitch View Post
I doubt that this is related in any way--not being a Steely-eyed coder, like you dudes--
I suspect it is related, and it's a Windows thing, not specific to the browser you're running.

And I'm not really a Steely-eyed coder. I'm the steely-eyed sysadmin who has had to sort out such problems for end-users. (Doing it when they are in the same facility and I can walk over and see the problem and lay hands on the machine is painful enough. Doing it over the phone when they are remote and utterly without a clue makes you question your choice of career.)

Quote:
but I have a similar b*tch with Chrome and Win 8.1. On my laptop. For reasons I don't "get," my Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga will suddenly shrink Chrome down to some infinitesimal size, and worse, moves it nearly off-screen--I have to go hunt for it. Then I have to play "catch the pixel" to grab some piece of it and manually resize it.

Drives me NUTS. FWIW, it seems to happen a lot when I've had the laptop running for a few days, but I've had it happen for no apparent reason upon a cold boot, too.
I've had it happen once or twice here in Firefox. I normally open everything in tabs, but occasionally find it useful to open things in a new window. The new window has sometimes gone walkabout, and taken fiddling to find and make usable again.

Just as a precaution, visit the Lenovo site and make sure you have the latest drivers. Graphics drivers are very common sources of problems you might think wouldn't be graphics related.[/quote]

Quote:
grrrrrrrr.
Yep.
______
Dennis
DMcCunney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 03:39 PM   #31344
Hitch
Bookmaker & Cat Slave
Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Hitch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Hitch's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,771
Karma: 54886904
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Device: K2, iPad, KFire, PPW, Voyage, and NookColor. 2 Droid, 1 Win8 ePUB rdrs
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMcCunney View Post
I suspect it is related, and it's a Windows thing, not specific to the browser you're running.
OK, so, I kinda thought it might be, obviously, which is why I brought it up, but it's so odd...although, lately, I have so many weirdo things happening in my computer...y'know, what's One More Thing?

I still have that godd*mned weirdness with the cursor and system sloooooooooooowing down. I mean, this 'puter has enough horsepower to probably run the Mars landing. I've stopped using my AHK, for the moment, to see if that might be it. It's obviously some intersection of sets--when this, that, and this NEXT THING are all running, it occurs. Maybe.

Quote:
And I'm not really a Steely-eyed coder. I'm the steely-eyed sysadmin who has had to sort out such problems for end-users. (Doing it when they are in the same facility and I can walk over and see the problem and lay hands on the machine is painful enough. Doing it over the phone when they are remote and utterly without a clue makes you question your choice of career.)
Dude, I have that thought DAILY. I recently acquired this cool little program called StepShot--it's an app in which you turn it on, start clicking, and it creates screenshots, as you go, highlighting where you've clicked. You then just annotate the "slides" (it reminds me of Powerpoint, in appearance/functionality, in a way), and send the resulting PDF to the client/person. While I can do the EXACT same thing, with Snagit, Camtasia Studio, HyperSnap, etc., honestly, this thing makes it uber-easy. I'm loving it. (Nope, no affiliation with them, just happy with it. I got a deal on AppSumo, and I'm glad I did.)


Quote:
I've had it happen once or twice here in Firefox. I normally open everything in tabs, but occasionally find it useful to open things in a new window. The new window has sometimes gone walkabout, and taken fiddling to find and make usable again.
Ahah. Well, then, maybe it IS Win10/8/whichever. I hate the walkabout, most of all. The scrunching I could live with, but the walkabout on my Yoga...uuuuggg.

Quote:
Just as a precaution, visit the Lenovo site and make sure you have the latest drivers. Graphics drivers are very common sources of problems you might think wouldn't be graphics related.
I will, thanks. I have not done that recently, so it's probably woefully overdue.

THANKS, D!!

Hitch
Hitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 07:40 PM   #31345
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 9,196
Karma: 7797387
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
I avoid driver updates unless I know it will fix a specific problem I am specifically experiencing, especially video drivers.

Device drivers get updated to handle the latest features on new model devices. Manufacturers will insist you need the latest drivers that can deliver the new-fangled triple twisting, double somersault in the inverted pike position off the 1 metre board, with fries on the side -- even though your $25 video card can't do much more than put a toe in the water.

Nir Sofer's GUI Properties tool can help deal with Windows that have gone awry, amongst other things - you can min, max, and centre them, unfortunately you can't resize them. Can be useful when one modal dialogue box hides behind another one.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:57 AM   #31346
cromag
Surfin the alpha waves ~~
cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cromag ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
cromag's Avatar
 
Posts: 12,389
Karma: 373888888
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Jersey
Device: Jetbook Lite & Mini, Nook STR, Kobo, Hanvon N516, Kindle 2, Androids
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMcCunney View Post
Win10 is annoying about that. It has a bad habit of trying to impose its defaults. I've had to tell it several times, for instance, that I want to use the Irfanview graphics viewer for all graphic file types it supports

Tell Firefox to assert itself as default browser.

Click the icon with three horizontal bars at the top right. Select Options from the drop-down menu. Select General in options. The first entry should have a line to the effect that Firefox is not your default browser, and an option to tell it to set itself as default.

Do that, and see if it fixes your problem.
______
Dennis
That just got me to Windows' "Settings" page, but I cursored all the way down to "choose default apps by file type" and was able to change each appropriate file type to Firefox -- so, all good now. (Just a minor pain in the butt.)
cromag is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
creepy crawlers!, dell computers, monteverdi, thread that never ends, tubery, unutterable silliness

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I just have to vent... lacymarie7575 Sony Reader 5 08-18-2010 08:59 PM
I need to vent! Booksonboard! Ugh! Mrgauth News 25 12-17-2009 10:26 AM
Why, Oh Why! [RANT] Vesper Lounge 19 06-19-2008 12:50 PM
Am I allowed to vent here? sborsody Which one should I buy? 25 06-12-2007 02:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.