Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > News

Notices

Old 02-01-2010, 12:21 PM   #1
jgsmith
Connoisseur
jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgsmith ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Sony PRS-600, Kobo Touch, Kindle PW2
eBook vs pBook

I'm relatively new to eBooks, but I'm noticing that they are not the same quality as printed books. I'm NOT referring to formatting, although there is huge room for improvement there as well. I am referring to spelling and grammar mistakes that I have not noticed in paper books. Words repeated...missing punctuation...spelling mistakes. I would have thought the "final" edited version of a book that is sent off to be printed would be the same version that is formatted for electronic delivery. It may not look as nice as we would like, but the content should be identical. Do I have this wrong? Have paper books come way down in quality as well or is a different version being used for eBooks? And if so, is there a reason? For the record, I am only referring to new eBook purchases, not scanned materials.

Jim
jgsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 12:22 PM   #2
rcuadro
Wizard