Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 11-20-2012, 05:53 AM   #1
umiak
umiak began at the beginning.

Device: none
A device for reading and listening

Hello,

I am very new to e-book devices and unfortunately don't know much about them. I'm looking for a device which I could use to read books and listen to audiobooks (I often do these two at a time on my laptop). I commute a lot and think that a mobile, light and pocketable reader would be an excellent way to use the time I spend on various means of transport.
I'd really like one device with big memory (audiobooks usually take up lots of space, for instance the folder for e-books and audiobooks I have on my computer takes up almost 20GB), handling various text and audio formats, and possibly with good battery life.
What would you suggest please?
umiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:00 AM   #2
ProfCrash
Tea Enthusiast
ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ProfCrash ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Kindle1, Kindle DX Graphite, K3 3G, IPad 3, PW2
Kindle 3 (aka Kindle Keyboard now) works well for this if. Amazon owns Audible and you can download your books from the cloud to the K3 easily enough. If you go with the 3G version you will be able to download books from the cloud easily enough in many different places.