Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2020, 05:49 AM   #1
mbovenka
Wizard
mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,858
Karma: 6633005
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Device: Kobo Forma
Ctrl-R not working?

I'm running Calibre 5.2 on Win10.

When I do a Ctrl-R(estart), I get the following error when Calibre tries to restart after shutting down:

calibre, version 5.2.0
ERROR: Cannot start calibre: <p>calibre is already running.</p><p>calibre may be running in the system tray, in the lower right region of the screen.</p><p>If you are sure it is not running, try rebooting your computer.

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "calibre\gui2\main.py", line 543, in main
File "calibre\gui2\main.py", line 514, in create_listener
File "multiprocessing\connection.py", line 446, in __init__
File "multiprocessing\connection.py", line 645, in __init__
File "multiprocessing\connection.py", line 658, in _new_handle
PermissionError: [WinError 5] Access is denied


Shutting down with Ctrl-Q and starting Calibre afterwards works fine, as does Ctrl-Shift-R(estart in debug mode).
mbovenka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 10:05 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,897
Karma: 16793211
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Works for me on my win10 machine.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-09-2020, 10:18 AM   #3
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,659
Karma: 35353615
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT(Fixed,New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Works for me also, but I do not run the Tray icon.
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 10:58 AM   #4
georgemk
Connoisseur
georgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tongue
 
Posts: 70
Karma: 22580
Join Date: Oct 2019
Device: nook Simple Touch with Glowlight
I'm also seeing the same Winerror 5 message when using either the Ctrl-R or Ctrl-Shift-R key combinations.

Calibre 5.2
Windows Version 10.0.19041 Build 19041
georgemk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 11:39 AM   #5
ownedbycats
Guru
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 797
Karma: 238578
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
I get the same error with the Restart button. Monitoring the task manager it tries to re-start the process before Calibre has a chance to fully unload from memory. Large library size or amount of plugins, perhaps?

Calibre 5.2 (x64), Windows 10 Home v.2004.
ownedbycats is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-09-2020, 01:26 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,897
Karma: 16793211
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That's very strange, the child process is launched after the library and all plugins are already shutdown. The parent process really shouldn't be hanging around for two seconds (the time the child waits).

But in any case, this should fix it: https://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibr...b48f90c9ec9ba6

And it has the nice side effect of removing the two second wait.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 04:20 PM   #7
georgemk
Connoisseur
georgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tongue
 
Posts: 70
Karma: 22580
Join Date: Oct 2019
Device: nook Simple Touch with Glowlight
Thank you Kovid. I'll check it out when the next release is done.
georgemk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 04:33 PM   #8
ownedbycats
Guru
ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ownedbycats ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 797
Karma: 238578
Join Date: Oct 2018
Device: Kobo Aura HD
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
That's very strange, the child process is launched after the library and all plugins are already shutdown. The parent process really shouldn't be hanging around for two seconds (the time the child waits).

But in any case, this should fix it: https://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibr...b48f90c9ec9ba6

And it has the nice side effect of removing the two second wait.
I've not really checked into this but I noticed a spike in disk drive usage when restarting Calibre. Could be that the parent process was being paged out and was slow to swap back into physical memory?
ownedbycats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 04:32 AM   #9
georgemk
Connoisseur
georgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tongue
 
Posts: 70
Karma: 22580
Join Date: Oct 2019
Device: nook Simple Touch with Glowlight
I have cloned the github source and setup the required environment variable. the version on the Calibre GUI says 5.2* so I assume it is running the github code as needed.

Now Ctrl R and Ctrl Shift R (or the menu option from Preferences) will close Calibre but it doesn't restart at all.
georgemk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 04:39 AM   #10
georgemk
Connoisseur
georgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tongue
 
Posts: 70
Karma: 22580
Join Date: Oct 2019
Device: nook Simple Touch with Glowlight
Output from debug after the Control R is typed
Code:
Starting QuickView
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "runpy.py", line 194, in _run_module_as_main
  File "runpy.py", line 87, in _run_code
  File "site.py", line 82, in <module>
  File "site.py", line 77, in main
  File "site.py", line 49, in run_entry_point
  File "C:\Users\george\github\calibre\src\calibre\debug.py", line 264, in main
  File "C:\Users\george\github\calibre\src\calibre\gui_launch.py", line 73, in calibre
  File "C:\Users\george\github\calibre\src\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 587, in main
  File "C:\Users\george\github\calibre\src\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 414, in run_gui
  File "C:\Users\george\github\calibre\src\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 358, in set_restarting_env_var
AttributeError: module 'winutil' has no attribute 'get_process_times'
georgemk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 04:59 AM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,897
Karma: 16793211
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Yes, it needs a native code module so it wont work until you can install the 5.3 binary
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 05:58 AM   #12
georgemk
Connoisseur
georgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tongue
 
Posts: 70
Karma: 22580
Join Date: Oct 2019
Device: nook Simple Touch with Glowlight
Ah okay then. I'll wait for the next release then. Just thought I'd get ahead and test it early.
Thanks again
georgemk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 06:09 AM   #13
mbovenka
Wizard
mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mbovenka ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,858
Karma: 6633005
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Device: Kobo Forma
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownedbycats View Post
I get the same error with the Restart button. Monitoring the task manager it tries to re-start the process before Calibre has a chance to fully unload from memory. Large library size or amount of plugins, perhaps?
In my case it was the library size. With an empty library it restarts fine.
mbovenka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 06:11 AM   #14
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 59,906
Karma: 56644595
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, iPad 4, iPhone SE 2020, PW3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbovenka View Post
In my case it was the library size. With an empty library it restarts fine.
Maybe it's just slow. Try with your large library and wait and see what happens. If you have a large enough library with not enough memory or a 32-bit version with a large enough libeary, it's probably spending time swapping in/out of disk.
JSWolf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 06:26 AM   #15
georgemk
Connoisseur
georgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tongue
 
Posts: 70
Karma: 22580
Join Date: Oct 2019
Device: nook Simple Touch with Glowlight
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSWolf View Post
Maybe it's just slow. Try with your large library and wait and see what happens. If you have a large enough library with not enough memory or a 32-bit version with a large enough libeary, it's probably spending time swapping in/out of disk.
My library has 3166 Books, I'm running the 64bit version and when Calibre is running I still have 11.8GB of memory available out of 16GB. And all disks are SSD.
So nothing out of the ordinary there.
georgemk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CTRL & SHIFT Not Working When Selecting Multiple Books Apache Calibre 5 08-06-2017 07:33 PM
Book view ctrl+v rbruce1314 Sigil 25 05-15-2015 07:12 AM
Ctrl-7 for <p> tags phossler Editor 3 02-25-2014 05:40 PM
Calibre 0.7.22 Ctrl D not working as well as 0.7.21 logs Calibre 2 10-08-2010 01:33 PM
iLiad No 'Ctrl' on iLiad?! ericshliao iRex Developer's Corner 7 11-06-2008 06:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.