Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-27-2020, 08:02 AM   #1
igorius
Member
igorius began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2015
Device: ipad
Calibre 5.0 and 5.0.1 errors

Hello and first thing: What a great upgrade of calibre!!!!

I found out some small glitches: When downloading metadata and there in the window "Cover download" its not possible to copy cover to clipboard nor can i see the cover in big size. I only get a beep. Nothing else happens.

I'm working on OSX 10.15, latest. Language german, so my explanation could be strange...
igorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 10:07 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,897
Karma: 16793211
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
yes, this is fixed in the next release.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 09-27-2020, 10:57 AM   #3
bk1
Member
bk1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2016
Device: Kindle paperwhite
Callibre 5.0.1 fails on startup

I just installed the newst version. I fails upon startup.

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site.py", line 89, in <module>
File "site.py', line 84, in main
File "site.py", line 55, in run_entry_point
File ·site-packages\calibre\gui_launch.py·, line 73, in calibre
File ·site-packages\calibre\gui2\main.py·, line 557, in main
File ·site-packages\calibre\gui2\main.py·, line 384, in run_gui
File • <frozen zipimport> ·, li ne 259, in load_module
File ·site-packages\calibre\gui2\ui.py·, line 42, in <modute>
File • <frozen zipimport> ·, li ne 259, in load_module
File ·site-packages\calibre\gui2\init.py·, line 20, in <module>
File • <frozen zipimport> ·, li ne 259, in load_module
File ·site-packages\calibre\gui2\book_details.py·, line 19, in
<module>
File • <frozen zipimport> ", li ne 259, in load_module
File
·site-packages\calibre\ebooks\metadata\book\render.py·, line
16, in <module>
lmportError: cannot import name 'comments_to_html' from
'calibre.library.comments' (C:\Program Fil es
(x86)\Calibre2\\app\pylib.zip\calibre\library\comm ents.pyc)

what happens?
bk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 11:28 AM   #4
bk1
Member
bk1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2016
Device: Kindle paperwhite
Forgot to write I am using W10
bk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 11:39 AM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,897
Karma: 16793211
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
reboot your computer
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 09-27-2020, 11:49 AM   #6
pyatrus
Enthusiast
pyatrus shares his or her toyspyatrus shares his or her toyspyatrus shares his or her toyspyatrus shares his or her toyspyatrus shares his or her toyspyatrus shares his or her toyspyatrus shares his or her toyspyatrus shares his or her toyspyatrus shares his or her toyspyatrus shares his or her toyspyatrus shares his or her toys
 
Posts: 40
Karma: 5772
Join Date: Jan 2009
Device: Nexus 7 (2013); Sony PRS-505; Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
Calibre 5.0.1 would NOT run as last step in install/upgrade (Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit)

Got the same error that is noted earlier in this thread. Did not need to restart computer, as noted in the following.

IMHO, the install program/script clearly needs to be cleaned up. Thanks.

downloaded/installed 5.0.1 today.

received the attached error dialog (5.0.1) would NOT run as part of 5.0.1 install/upgrade.

After closing error dialog box (i.e., part of install where 5.0.1 would not run).

Restarted Calibre 5.0.1 from executable folder; ran OK.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	load-error-Calibre-5-0-1-2020-09-27.png
Views:	33
Size:	28.6 KB
ID:	182273  

Last edited by pyatrus; 09-27-2020 at 11:52 AM.
pyatrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 11:54 AM   #7
bk1
Member
bk1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2016
Device: Kindle paperwhite
Rebooting did the trick. thanks!
bk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 11:56 AM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,897
Karma: 16793211
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
@pyatrus: It's nothing to do with the installation, its a bug in python 3, nad has already been worked around for the next calibre release. https://github.com/kovidgoyal/calibr...632fc76534bd53

if you are curious.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 12:29 PM   #9
jiembe
Connoisseur
jiembe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 82
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Québec
Device: Kobo Glo; Kobo Libra
I tried to create a Table of contents and I get that error message :

calibre, version 5.0.0
ERREUR : Exception non gérée: <b>TypeError</b>:bad argument type: bytes(b'li { list-style-type: none; padding-left: 2em; margin-left: 0}\n\na { text-decoration: none }\n\na:hover { color: red }\n')

calibre 5.0 [64bit] embedded-python: True is64bit: True
Windows-10-10.0.19041-SP0 Windows ('64bit', 'WindowsPE')
('Windows', '10', '10.0.19041')
Python 3.8.5
Windows: ('10', '10.0.19041', 'SP0', 'Multiprocessor Free')
Interface language: fr
Successfully initialized third party plugins: EpubMerge (2, 11, 0) && EpubSplit (2, 9, 0) && KePub Input (3, 2, 10) && KePub Metadata Reader (3, 2, 9) && KePub Metadata Writer (3, 2, 12) && KePub Output (3, 2, 15) && Kobo Utilities (2, 11, 5) && KoboTouchExtended (3, 2, 15)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\tweak_book\boss.py", line 584, in insert_inline_toc
File "site-packages\calibre\ebooks\oeb\polish\toc.py", line 879, in create_inline_toc
File "site-packages\calibre\ebooks\oeb\polish\toc.py", line 842, in toc_to_html
File "src/lxml/builder.py", line 226, in lxml.builder.ElementMaker.__call__
TypeError: bad argument type: bytes(b'li { list-style-type: none; padding-left: 2em; margin-left: 0}\n\na { text-decoration: none }\n\na:hover { color: red }\n')
jiembe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 01:08 PM   #10
igorius
Member
igorius began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2015
Device: ipad
Thanks a lot for that quick answer!!!! Extremely great work you are doing!
igorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 01:11 PM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,897
Karma: 16793211
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
@jiembe: Update to 5.0.1
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 02:32 PM   #12
estral
Just trying to survive
estral doesn't litterestral doesn't litterestral doesn't litter
 
Posts: 45
Karma: 210
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Device: Nexus 7 2013, Galaxy Note 10.1 2014
Calibre 5.0.1, MSI Rolls Back

I UNINSTALLED POWERTOYS, INSTALLATION SUCCESSFUL.

Sorry I did not think of this sooner. Hope the log file was of some use.

Thanks,

Uncle Eric

Hi,

Just downloaded Calibre 5.0.1, when installing it seems to copy all the files and then does an installation rollback. I have attached a log file to this message.

It seems to be failing during the process of installing a shortcut, I am no expert here, hence, the attached install log file.

I am listed as the administrator of my computer.

My 4.23 installation continues to work.

I have rebooted my machine and tried the install again.

I am running Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, i7, 32mb Ram and lots of disk space.

Please advise, TIA.

Uncle Eric
Attached Files
File Type: txt calibreinstall.txt (449.8 KB, 42 views)

Last edited by estral; 09-27-2020 at 02:39 PM.
estral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 02:34 PM   #13
georgemk
Connoisseur
georgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tonguegeorgemk can tie a knot in a cherry stem with his or her tongue
 
Posts: 70
Karma: 22580
Join Date: Oct 2019
Device: nook Simple Touch with Glowlight
@estral

Do you have Power Toys installed and running by any chance? If so, disable them and try to install again. This is a common issue with Power Toys blocking the install..
georgemk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 02:34 PM   #14
DNSB
Bibliophagist
DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DNSB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DNSB's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,578
Karma: 39207181
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vancouver
Device: Kobo Forma, Clara HD, Nexus 7 HD, iPad Pro, Tolino epos
Quote:
Originally Posted by estral View Post
Hi,

Just downloaded Calibre 5.0.1, when installing it seems to copy all the files and then does an installation rollback. I have attached a log file to this message.

It seems to be failing during the process of installing a shortcut, I am no expert here, hence, the attached install log file.

I am listed as the administrator of my computer.

My 4.23 installation continues to work.

I have rebooted my machine and tried the install again.

I am running Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, i7, 32mb Ram and lots of disk space.

Please advise, TIA.

Uncle Eric
By any chance, do you have Microsoft's Powertoys installed? If so, disable them during the install.

Last edited by DNSB; 09-27-2020 at 02:35 PM. Reason: Great minds think alike, fools seldom differ. VGB
DNSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 03:05 PM   #15
jiembe
Connoisseur
jiembe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 82
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Québec
Device: Kobo Glo; Kobo Libra
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
@jiembe: Update to 5.0.1
Calibre didn't offer me that upgrade. Got it from the site. Everything well now.
jiembe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No errors found in calibre, but epub check found errors LarkinJM ePub 3 03-03-2020 04:51 PM
Errors with Calibre 3.1.1 Kaetrin Calibre 2 06-29-2017 03:57 AM
Calibre Errors EvM1 Devices 15 05-29-2016 02:58 AM
I get many errors with calibre desideria Devices 4 04-14-2011 11:56 AM
Calibre errors on one PC, not another Katelyn Calibre 12 07-13-2009 09:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.