Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2010, 03:37 PM   #1
Cartaphilus
Junior Member
Cartaphilus began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Kindle
Problems Using Calibredb Commands in a Batch File

I'm running Vista Home Premium and I'm trying to (semi)automate generating listings from Calibre by using a batch file. However, every time I execute a calibredb command, instead of returning to the next command in the batch file, the job simply terminates. The batch file looks something like this:

echo Trying This Batch File...
pause
cd c:\users\fred
pause
calibredb list -f authors > c:\users\fred\calibrereport\authors.csv
pause
echo Author Report Run

I get the echo and the first pause. I get the directory change. I get the second pause (I added all the pauses just to "debug" the batch file). The calibredb command runs, but I never get to the 3rd pause or the last echo. When I go to the piped destination, the report is there, so I know the command ran.

Any ideas?
Cartaphilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 03:58 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 43,776
Karma: 22666666
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
http://bugs.calibre-ebook.com/ticket/3923
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 01-22-2010, 04:29 PM   #3
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cartaphilus View Post
I'm running Vista Home Premium and I'm trying to (semi)automate generating listings from Calibre by using a batch file. However, every time I execute a calibredb command, instead of returning to the next command in the batch file, the job simply terminates. The batch file looks something like this:

echo Trying This Batch File...
pause
cd c:\users\fred
pause
calibredb list -f authors > c:\users\fred\calibrereport\authors.csv
pause
echo Author Report Run

I get the echo and the first pause. I get the directory change. I get the second pause (I added all the pauses just to "debug" the batch file). The calibredb command runs, but I never get to the 3rd pause or the last echo. When I go to the piped destination, the report is there, so I know the command ran.

Any ideas?
This drove me batty. Calibredb won't play well with the Windows command interpreter. After much playing around, while waiting for the fix, I found a workaround. Try this:
Code:
echo Trying This Batch File...
cd c:\users\fred
start calibredb list -f authors > c:\users\fred\calibrereport\authors.csv
echo Author Report Run
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 07:18 PM   #4
Cartaphilus
Junior Member
Cartaphilus began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Kindle
Starson17,

'Start' did the trick. Thank you much.

Kovid,

Calibre is a great piece of work. Be Proud.

Regards,
Cartaphilus
Cartaphilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ebook-convert won't work in a batch file since 0.6.17 mbovenka Calibre 20 01-13-2011 07:03 PM
A little newb help? Launch Calibre via batch file with "Start in tray" modifier jphphotography Calibre 7 01-04-2011 11:49 AM
Mobigen Mass Batch conversion of HTML-Single-File ebooks to .mobi ebooks cklammer Kindle Formats 9 11-20-2009 03:00 AM
Word Documents - batch convert title property from file name tomliversidge Workshop 4 11-07-2008 11:20 AM
Batch convert to plucker .pdb file. khaoohs Workshop 2 04-28-2006 11:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.