Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 05-30-2018, 09:17 PM   #1
immortal192
immortal192 began at the beginning.

Device: none
Oasis 2 features on the Aura One? Paperwhite 4?

I'm new to ereaders and have done quite a bit of reading. I know I'll want an e-ink-based ereader as it's better for the eyes (important to me since I'm on the computer 10+ hours a day already). I plan to read a lot of books, textbooks (about programming) and PDFs (articles). Obvious candidates for my budget of ~$300 is the Kobo Aura One and Kindle Oasis 2. The Paperwhite is also attractive since it's easily the best bang-for-the-buck, especially with the upcoming Paperwhite 4. And the new Kobo Clara HD should also be in the talks as it appears to be a direct competitor to the Paperwhite.

Anyway, it seems other than lighting and dimensions, there isn't too significant of a difference in terms of hardware, so I'm mostly interested about the software side of things (I don't mind installing firmwares, sideloading apps, or whatnot). So...

Are there lots of 3rd party features that can be added to both the Kobo and Kindle devices? Ae these in the form of "apps" where features can be added to an existing operating system or do they come as a whole package (all-or-nothing)? Are there third-party operating systems for these ereaders or is it expected that we continue to use the native operation systems and we just sideload apps that we like?

Things I like about the Oasis 2: