Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-20-2018, 12:29 PM   #1
beejsbj
Junior Member
beejsbj began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2018
Device: none
Is there a way to automatically/batch add the summary of the epub as a page?

as a page within the book itself?
beejsbj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 12:36 PM   #2
jackie_w
Wizard
jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,642
Karma: 11226921
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Device: Sony:PRS-350, Kobo:Aura6"/H2O/GloHD/KA1/ClaraHD/Forma
Yes. If you haven't done it already, add the "Polish" utility to one of your menus/toolbars (via Prefs - Toolbars & Menus). Then run the option labelled Add/replace metadata as a "book jacket" page against selected books in your library.
jackie_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 02:12 AM   #3
beejsbj
Junior Member
beejsbj began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2018
Device: none
omg thank you so much. exactly what i needed!
beejsbj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 11:08 AM   #4
phossler
Guru
phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.
 
Posts: 773
Karma: 156340
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Valley Forge, PA, USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
Also in C:\Users\......\AppData\Roaming\calibre\resources\ jacket there's stylesheet.css and template xtml that you can customize.

I added a little CSS to tweak the format a little

Code:
/*Added for personal preference */
p {
   margin-bottom: 1em;
   line-height:125%;
  }

I did find out the hard way (lots of wasted time) that the CSS in stylesheet.css is incorporated/embedded into the template.xhtml that eventually becomes jacket.xhtml, which is not linked to any external style sheet
phossler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 11:16 PM   #5
beejsbj
Junior Member
beejsbj began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2018
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by phossler View Post
Also in C:\Users\......\AppData\Roaming\calibre\resources\ jacket there's stylesheet.css and template xtml that you can customize.

I added a little CSS to tweak the format a little

Code:
/*Added for personal preference */
p {
   margin-bottom: 1em;
   line-height:125%;
  }

I did find out the hard way (lots of wasted time) that the CSS in stylesheet.css is incorporated/embedded into the template.xhtml that eventually becomes jacket.xhtml, which is not linked to any external style sheet
i dont understand? so what does the tweak specifically do? and i dont seem to have "jacket" in my resources folder.
beejsbj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 11:45 PM   #6
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 22,363
Karma: 22265700
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by beejsbj View Post
i dont understand? so what does the tweak specifically do? and i dont seem to have "jacket" in my resources folder.
The way Calibre works is: IF it finds a Copy (same path/file name) in the configuration folder, it uses that instead.

This keeps updates from stomping on customizations.

Just copy the file from the installation folder and put it in the same folder name in the calibre config folder. Then make you adjustments.
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 10:53 AM   #7
phossler
Guru
phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.phossler can grok the meaning of the universe.
 
Posts: 773
Karma: 156340
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Valley Forge, PA, USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
@theducks -- thanks, I forgot that I had put a personalized copy in my AppData


@beejsbj - the little bit of CSS just added space below each paragraph and opens the line spacing up a little in the jacket page. It's not necessary to do any of this, but it is nice that Kovid has made Calibre so customizable
phossler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add books to existing metadata batch Tanjamuse Library Management 8 11-04-2017 06:38 AM
How to automatically add comments MarcDS Library Management 3 09-01-2017 06:23 PM
Comments - batch add? mezme Calibre 6 02-22-2015 09:32 PM
Automatically Add - How often does it check? Stresspuppy Library Management 2 05-19-2014 11:05 PM
"add metadata as 1st page" won't work on batch [send to device] Bellychaser Devices 3 01-25-2011 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.