Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-13-2018, 10:57 AM   #1
romad
U.S. Air Force, Retired
romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!
 
romad's Avatar
 
Posts: 102
Karma: 5212
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Oroville, California People's Republic
Device: iPad Mini 3 & Mini 4
Is the Mac version of Calibre 64-bit?

With the imminent release of the last version of MacOS (Mojave) to support 32-bit applications, is Calibre at least a 32/64-bit application? If not, when might a 64-bit version be released?
romad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 12:01 PM   #2
gbm
Wizard
gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.gbm ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,448
Karma: 5435106
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Windows 10 tablet,Hisence Sero 7 Pro RIP, Nook STR, jetbook lite
Quote:
Originally Posted by romad View Post
With the imminent release of the last version of MacOS (Mojave) to support 32-bit applications, is Calibre at least a 32/64-bit application? If not, when might a 64-bit version be released?
I do not think that calibre has ever had a 32-bit Mac version.

bernie
gbm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 12:20 PM   #3
romad
U.S. Air Force, Retired
romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!
 
romad's Avatar
 
Posts: 102
Karma: 5212
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Oroville, California People's Republic
Device: iPad Mini 3 & Mini 4
That may be possible as the Calibre Wikipedia lists the IA-32 & x64 platforms for both Windows and Linux, but doesn't specify the Mac OS platform. However, it may use Apple's "Universal Binary" with combined 32 & 64.

Hopefully Kovid will soon clear it up for us.
romad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 11:20 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 33,503
Karma: 10205098
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbm View Post
I do not think that calibre has ever had a 32-bit Mac version.

bernie
It did a long time ago, it used to have "fat" binaries (32bit + 64bit combined). But modern calibre releases for macOS are 64bit only.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 11:41 PM   #5
romad
U.S. Air Force, Retired
romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!romad , Klaatu Barada Niktu!
 
romad's Avatar
 
Posts: 102
Karma: 5212
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Oroville, California People's Republic
Device: iPad Mini 3 & Mini 4
Thanks, Kovid!
romad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone performance tested the calibre 32bit vs 64 bit on Windows 7 32 bit & 64 bit? millan Devices 6 11-07-2014 05:03 PM
Calibre 32-bit and 64-bit Installed; Uninstall 32-bit? J-Mac Calibre 6 06-29-2013 06:40 AM
New: 64 Bit Version of Calibre for Windows country0129 Calibre 3 12-07-2012 12:48 PM
Different calibre version Mac OS X and Ubuntu 10.10 jimbudler Devices 3 03-08-2011 10:24 AM
Mac OS X problem with new version of Calibre .58 Mitchll Calibre 11 07-06-2008 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.