Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Old 08-03-2010, 07:51 PM   #1
zetareticuli
Addict
zetareticuli doesn't litterzetareticuli doesn't litterzetareticuli doesn't litter

Device: Aztak Mentor
Finally got Kindle DXG - first impressions

My Kindle DXG was finally delivered today and I have been using it for 5 hours. Below are some of my first impressions. I am sure most have already been mentioned many times before. A bit background about myself so that you guys can understand the usage of the DXG as it applies to me. I am a scientist with graduate degrees in Physics and Computer Science. The primary use of the DXG is to read technical documents, publications, and books (all PDF). For the time being, I will not be purchasing any books in Kindle format but as more technical material becomes available in Kindle form, I will in the future.

1. The DXG is lighter than I expected. I don't have a problem carrying it around or reading on it for hours. Of course, it is heavier than a 6" device.

2. I just finished reading a technical paper (PDF) on Relativistic Quantum Physics. This paper is 70% equations, graphs, and tables. No problem there. It looked very good on the DXG. No complaints. Not every document looks the same way. Some documents look better than others but overall I am satisfied with how PDFs are displayed. Significantly better than on the 6" devices I was accustomed to. (I should mention here that the iPad still displays better PDF). Rotating to landscape mode makes most PDFs perfectly readable.

3. PDFs features that do not exist currently that would be very useful: Table of content, text reflow, better zooming capabilities, annotations, links. Searches are available but they are slow. Not very usable when the document is very large. Bookmarks are available and work well.