Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Related Tools

Notices

Old 11-01-2012, 12:37 PM   #1
andrplx
andrplx began at the beginning.

Device: none
Calibre Library folder on an external usb drive

Just starting with Calibre. Great, great software.

Being a newbie I might be missing something about Calibre's configuration, so please be patient.
I installed Calibre on my laptop, but created the Library folder on an external usb drive where I keep all my music, movies and books.
If the drive is disconnected, Calibre can't access the library and actually needs to have a new library created before running.

To be able to browse my library even if I'm away from the external drive I found a workaround.
I've managed to do this by copying the metadata.db and metadata_db_prefs_backup.json files to a new library folder on my laptop.
Calibre opens the library correctly even if it is not possible to open the actual ebooks.

The problem is I must keep updating these files everytime I add a new book to Calibre.

I wonder if is possible to synchronize these files in some way or if there's a way to choose where Calibre saves these metadata files independently from the actual books folders.

andrplx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:54 PM   #2
theducks
Well trained by Cats