Notices

Old 08-03-2010, 06:29 PM   #1
sarikan
Zealot
sarikan began at the beginning.

Device: none
Any alternatives to DR1000S?

Hi,
I've been using my DR1000S for about two years now, and I'm curious about the devices which are out there.
I don't want to turn this into a long and unnecessary discussion, so let me just say that I have waited too long for this device to deliver its potential, and I've lost my hope.
However, it is still the only device that I know of that offers the large screen, stylus and annotation, and of course e-ink.
I'd still try to stay with e-ink rather than using a device like an i-pad, but I simply can't see a single device out there, which I can buy today, which can deliver the advantages of dr1000s I've given above.
Any devices that you can recommend? It appears there is still no alternative to this device.

Best Regards
Seref Arikan
sarikan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 04:46 AM   #2
splendor
Enthusiast
splendor began at the beginning.

Device: irex
same here, i have also been looking for a better alternative to replace my dr1000
splendor is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 08-04-2010, 06:28 AM   #3
Gwaihir
The Windlord
Gwaihir began at the beginning.

Device: iRex DR1000S, BeBook Club S
I think it would help if you'd let us know what "potential" you're missing the most.

Personally, I'm not aware of any device that beats my DR1000S, as imperfect as it may be. Features I am missing most:
  • quick start up (not neccessarily fast boot, wake up from suspend-to-flash would do just as well),
  • reliable battery life - i.e. don't fully drain the battery at unexpected moments making the device unavailable,
  • sufficient battery life for business note taking - note taking just drains the battery to fast for reliable use during meetings and while attending trainings / presentations. This requires much optimization or a bigger battery,