Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Server

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2019, 11:39 AM   #1
mike26
Junior Member
mike26 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2019
Device: fire
calibre-server - cannot start second instance

Running on Ubuntu 18.04.1. According to earlier posts, this should work but seems to be broken in the latest release. Can anyone confirm this is correct?

$ /opt/calibre/calibre-server --version
calibre-server (calibre 3.38.1)

~$ /opt/calibre/calibre-server --port 8080 /home/<user>/Calibre/IT &
[1] 28502
~$ calibre server listening on 0.0.0.0:8080

~$ OPDS feeds advertised via BonJour at: 192.168.0.110 port: 8080

~$

~$ ps -ef | grep calibre
<user> 28502 24402 0 10:31 pts/0 00:00:01 /opt/calibre/bin/calibre-server --port 8080 /home/sergiu/Calibre/IT
<user> 28569 24402 0 10:36 pts/0 00:00:00 grep --color=auto calibre

~$

~$ /opt/calibre/calibre-server --port 8081 /home/<user>/Calibre/Literature/ &
[2] 28522
~$ Another calibre program such as another instance of calibre-server or the main calibre program is running. Having multiple programs that can make changes to a calibre library running at the same time is not supported.

[2]+ Exit 1
mike26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2019, 03:41 PM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,504
Karma: 950063
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
I do not believe you can start multiple instances of Calibre server any more!

Why do you want to anyway as nowadays a single instance gives access to all your Calibre libraries.
itimpi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2019, 05:59 PM   #3
mike26
Junior Member
mike26 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2019
Device: fire
Quote:
Originally Posted by itimpi View Post
I do not believe you can start multiple instances of Calibre server any more!

Why do you want to anyway as nowadays a single instance gives access to all your Calibre libraries.
Sorry, I thing I am missing something. How exactly one Calibre server instance can give me access all my Calibre libraries? TIA.
mike26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2019, 06:26 PM   #4
mike26
Junior Member
mike26 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2019
Device: fire
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike26 View Post
Sorry, I thing I am missing something. How exactly one Calibre server instance can give me access all my Calibre libraries? TIA.
Never mind. Got it. Thanks.
mike26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 03:07 PM   #5
Geremia
Zealot
Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.Geremia shines like a glazed doughnut.
 
Posts: 118
Karma: 8778
Join Date: Oct 2012
Device: Calibre
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by itimpi View Post
I do not believe you can start multiple instances of Calibre server any more!
Yes, I couldn't get it working even by specifying different ports…
Geremia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 01:33 PM   #6
poxalew
Junior Member
poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.poxalew can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 166666
Join Date: Aug 2014
Device: Kindle PW2
Late to the party, I know, but there is a way to start multiple instances: define the environment variable
Code:
CALIBRE_NO_SI_DANGER_DANGER
to anything you like except empty before starting the calibre-server process.

Warning: Here be dragons. Make damn sure you specify distinct library paths etc for the server on the command line, and be extremely careful about accessing the library metadata DB from outside of that server (in the best case, the server will not pick up any changes until it's restarted; in the worst case, you might corrupt it.)
poxalew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to start calibre server dator Server 9 08-31-2018 09:45 AM
Calibre server won't start, but why? sciurius Related Tools 5 02-11-2018 11:33 PM
Calibre server won't start! Moketa Calibre 6 05-24-2012 08:31 PM
Calibre Crashing on Start - Content Server Tkosh Calibre 2 01-06-2012 09:57 AM
Calibre server wont start ...help please StefTeamEdward Calibre 20 05-17-2010 01:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.