06-20-2010, 04:43 PM | #1 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 11,951
Karma: 7225107
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Notts, England
Device: Kobo Libra 2
|
Testers wanted for 'series' custom columns
After discussion with Kovid, I have added a new type of custom column: series. I am looking for some testers.
Series custom columns are like the standard series column. They contain a series name that many books can refer to, and a 'n.nn' value that is individual to a book. Editing via edit metadata and directly on the library view is supported. The series name is searchable and appears in the tag browser. Like other custom fields, you cannot yet use them in collections, but that will come. The series type was added to permit books to be in more than one series at a time. For example, Weber's Honorverse books have at least an Honorverse temporal order, a publishing order, and a sub-series order. Bradley's Darkover books have the same characteristics, with the added complexity that the sub-series are threaded together. Using the new column type, you can keep track of the ones that interest you. Now to testing: I have tried it in all the permutations that I can think of, but hard experience has shown that I don't think of them all. My hope for opening it for testing is to get confidence that series columns work and that nothing else has been broken. Even just a few people trying it will raise confidence levels substantially. Some things to test: I had to touch a little bit of code in a lot of places. I had to change both edit metadata functions (single and bulk), and there is some possibility that I broke them. I also changed the library view to both display and edit the series columns, changed sorting for the obvious reason, and modified the create custom column display. All of these should be tried by different fingers than mine. In addition, the version should be simply used as normal, because there might be unexpected behavior somewhere else. To test, you must run from source. The source repository is lp:~cbhaley/calibre/charles_test/. If you have never run from source, see http://calibre-ebook.com/user_manual/develop.html. The process isn't overly difficult, but it does make a few demands that not everyone is prepared for. The most challenging is installing the version control environment 'bzr', used for downloading the source. There are no changes to the database schema, so the risk of damaging a your database is extremely low. That said, as always it would be good to have a backup. There is only one 0.7.4 compatibility problem. Once you create series columns, you will not be able to run 0.7.4 until you delete those columns. If you forget to delete them, 0.7.4 will complain bitterly about an unknown column type '#series' and not start properly. If you want to back up to 0.7.4, delete the columns using the test version, or by using 0.7.4's command line command 'calibredb remove_custom_column'. Alternatively, and better, would be to run it on a copy of your library. Thank you in advance for your help. |
06-20-2010, 07:19 PM | #2 | |
Well trained by Cats
Posts: 30,406
Karma: 58055234
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
Quote:
I have both those example series (and More . I love to test for you, but I seem to be dense in getting the bzr's to run (currently have the trunk on my system) I set the Windows environment: Code:
CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM Code:
"C:\Documents and Settings\shop1\calibre" I should just start Calibre like I always do and it should run from the source, Right? |
|
Advert | |
|
06-20-2010, 08:06 PM | #3 |
Comparer of the Ephemeris
Posts: 1,496
Karma: 424697
Join Date: Mar 2009
Device: iPad
|
I think you need to set the variable one level deeper to the src directory.
You will see an asterisk by the version number in the gui when running from source. G |
06-20-2010, 09:49 PM | #4 | |
Well trained by Cats
Posts: 30,406
Karma: 58055234
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
Quote:
Then I noticed that there was a calibre\src inside the src dir that did not work either No 0.7.4* when I restart Calibre I give up |
|
06-21-2010, 03:41 AM | #5 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 11,951
Karma: 7225107
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Notts, England
Device: Kobo Libra 2
|
Thanks for trying.
My setting is Code:
set CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM=C:\calibre_development\calibre\src The other trick is that you must set the environment variable so that calibre can see it. You can set it in the windows environment list (my computer, ..., environment), but that is harder to manage. For example, you usually need to reboot after changing it. The easiest way (for me) to run calibre from source is to use a .bat (or .cmd) file and run from a cmd prompt. The file will contain the following, but with your path: Code:
set CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM=C:\calibre_development\calibre\src calibre-debug -g If you want to use a different library, add the appropriate CALIBRE line(s) to the above. What I do is use different configuration folders so settings so my production library doesn't get touched. As such I add: Code:
set CALIBRE_CONFIG_DIRECTORY=C:\calibre_development\config_test The same techniques work on linux systems, with syntax changes appropriate for the shell in use. Don't forget to export your environment variables if your shell requires it (most do). |
Advert | |
|
06-21-2010, 11:06 AM | #6 | |||
Well trained by Cats
Posts: 30,406
Karma: 58055234
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|||
06-21-2010, 11:09 AM | #7 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 11,951
Karma: 7225107
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Notts, England
Device: Kobo Libra 2
|
|
06-21-2010, 11:12 AM | #8 |
Well trained by Cats
Posts: 30,406
Karma: 58055234
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
|
06-21-2010, 11:37 AM | #9 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 11,951
Karma: 7225107
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Notts, England
Device: Kobo Libra 2
|
Copy the following and paste it into a cmd box.
Code:
set CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM="C:\Documents and Settings\shop1\calibre\src" calibre-debug -g If this doesn't work, then either the path does not lead to the right place or there is something wrong with the source folders. The 'right place' will contain the folders routes, calibre, cherrypy, odf, and pyPdf. |
06-21-2010, 01:07 PM | #10 | |
Well trained by Cats
Posts: 30,406
Karma: 58055234
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
Quote:
Code:
Volume in drive C is C-clamp Volume Serial Number is F857-3467 Directory of C:\Documents and Settings\shop1\calibre\src 06/15/2010 19:57 <DIR> . 06/15/2010 19:57 <DIR> .. 06/19/2010 21:27 <DIR> calibre 06/15/2010 19:57 <DIR> cherrypy 06/15/2010 19:57 <DIR> odf 06/15/2010 19:57 <DIR> pyPdf 06/15/2010 19:57 <DIR> routes 0 File(s) 0 bytes 7 Dir(s) 22,999,883,776 bytes free and the Echo of the Environment (2 times to be sure it was my echo that logged) "C:\Documents and Settings\shop1\calibre\src" "C:\Documents and Settings\shop1\calibre\src" echo %calibre_develop_from% (was not set) No * |
|
06-21-2010, 01:35 PM | #11 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 11,951
Karma: 7225107
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Notts, England
Device: Kobo Libra 2
|
Could there be a DEVELOP_CALIBRE_FROM specified in your windows environment? Go to my computer, right-click and choose properties, then advanced, then environment variables, and check both the user box and the system box.
|
06-21-2010, 02:40 PM | #12 | |
Well trained by Cats
Posts: 30,406
Karma: 58055234
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
Quote:
No! to the environment vars user and system you just wrote DEVELOP_CALIBRE_FROM the instrustions said: CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM are there errors in the instructions :/ |
|
06-21-2010, 02:55 PM | #13 | |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 11,951
Karma: 7225107
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Notts, England
Device: Kobo Libra 2
|
Quote:
If you want to give up at this point, that would be completely understandable. If not, then grasping at straws at this point: Are there a lot of .py files in the sub-folders of C:\Documents and Settings\shop1\calibre\src\calibre? Does the folder C:\Documents and Settings\shop1\calibre\resources exist? |
|
06-21-2010, 03:26 PM | #14 | |
Well trained by Cats
Posts: 30,406
Karma: 58055234
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
Quote:
I Give up I would have liked to have contributed by being a tester since my modern code skills are minimal (I understand, maybe 25% of what I am seeing. . ) |
|
06-26-2010, 06:06 AM | #15 |
e^bored
Posts: 44
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kobo Aura HD, BeBook Neo
|
I've just found this feature in the new 0.7.5 version, and am quite pleased with it. However, I'm not sure how to deal with numbering of both the main series and the sub-series (and the Honorverse books are the main culprits ); any advice?
Also, is there any nice way of dealing with books which may or may not have a sub-series when sending them to a device or saving them (rather than having to use yet another possible saving format)? |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Beta testers wanted | mtravellerh | PocketBook | 47 | 09-15-2010 04:22 PM |
Custom Columns - the Future? | Starson17 | Calibre | 2 | 07-13-2010 09:56 AM |
DjVu plugin for DR1000 (testers wanted) | luite | iRex | 42 | 02-13-2010 02:19 PM |
Beta testers wanted: MobileRead goes Unicode | Alexander Turcic | Announcements | 0 | 08-12-2009 10:28 AM |