Notices

Old 10-13-2021, 11:31 AM   #1
segaboy
I read too much
segaboy began at the beginning.

Device: Surface Pro 6
Help improving sync performance across devices

Hello!

This is my first post here. I have been using Calibre for many years, but the way I use it has changed considerably.

I no longer use a dedicated ereader. I have transitioned to using Calibre and the Calibre ebook reader on my Microsoft Surface. Also, since my library has expanded, I have been making use of the organization and tagging features Calibre has to offer. This has made the cloud syncing aspect critical for me.

My library has been in OneDrive for a few years now, and I wasn't too concerned about syncing issues because at the time I wasn't using the more advanced features for organizing my library. Today, I had to restart my tablet and when I restarted there were several library changes I made that were just gone... I know this is due to OneDrive.

I think this is because the OneDrive filesystem is not mounted directly from the cloud. It is a local filesystem that is synced later after a short delay.

I want to avoid issues like this in the future, so I'm asking the community - what is the best could syncing filesystem for Windows when using Calibre? More specifically, are there any that behave more like a remotely attached filesystem, like NFS or SMB?

I would also like to be able to reliably move from device to device. While I mainly read on my Surface Pro 6, I would also like reliable access on my work computer for accessing other types of books, like technical manuals.

Please, I would like to read about all your experiences.
segaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2021, 01:18 PM   #2
theducks
Well trained by Cats