Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Editor

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2020, 06:08 AM   #1
Bertrand
Zealot
Bertrand began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 102
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Device: None
Calibre 5.41 : Editor doesn't start

Windows 64 bits - 10.0.19041
I just updated calibre from 4.23 to 5.4.1.

Usually I run Edit e-book via a right-click in Windows file explorer > Open with.
But in 5.4.1 the editor doesn't start.
I tried to run it from the start menu. No result.
I launch calibre, right click a book in my library > Edit book. No result.

No message, no error, nothing. The task manager doesn't show anything.
The editor seems to be dead.

Any idea what's going on ?

Thanks.
Bertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2020, 07:01 AM   #2
georgemk
Addict
georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.georgemk ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 206
Karma: 291844
Join Date: Oct 2019
Device: Kobo Nia
Most likely an antivirus software issue. Some AV software can take a dislike to Calibre in a big way.

Just temporarily shutdown your AV software and then try to run the Calibre editor. If it works then there is an issue with the AV software.
georgemk is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 11-03-2020, 07:04 AM   #3
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 69,191
Karma: 116053285
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Kobo Libra 2, Kobo Aura H2O, PRS-650, PRS-T1, nook STR, PW3
If it really is your AV software, then delete it as no AV worth anything should be blocking Calibre.
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2020, 07:58 AM   #4
Bertrand
Zealot
Bertrand began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 102
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Device: None
I'm using the native AV, Windows Defender. I've tried to deactivate a few things (I'm not really sure what I should deactivate), add an exclusion but nothing changes. I even restarted the computer.

Thanks for the suggestions.
Bertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2020, 08:26 AM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 42,069
Karma: 19561336
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
One a command prompt and run

calibre-debug -t

and post the output
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 11-03-2020, 08:55 AM   #6
Bertrand
Zealot
Bertrand began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 102
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Device: None
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
One a command prompt and run

calibre-debug -t

and post the output
That put me on the right track : "SyntaxError: invalid syntax" in a plugin.
I removed this plugin and the editor works again.

Thanks Kovid !

(Note : this a private plugin, not a plugin from mobileread)
Bertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre doesn't start FuzzyDog Calibre 4 08-26-2018 04:28 AM
Calibre doesn't start on OSX Mark Bragg Calibre 3 01-14-2010 11:35 PM
Calibre doesn't start slothrop Calibre 1 12-14-2009 10:23 PM
calibre doesn't start in Archlinux 64 Celeblin Calibre 0 07-08-2009 05:58 PM
Calibre doesn´t start... chili_666 Calibre 3 02-12-2009 02:09 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:52 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.