Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Formats > Workshop

Notices

Old 07-15-2007, 09:53 PM   #1
kelchm
kelchm began at the beginning.

Device: Sony Reader
What is your theory on creating a personal eBook library?

I'm new to the electronic reading scene, just got a Sony Reader this past friday. I've been in the process of digitizing my music collection and my DVD collection, so I figured why not digitize my books as well?

So, heres the real problem. I've figured out the best means of archiving my CDs [FLAC + CUE], and I've been quite happy ripping my DVDs in x264... BUT, what is the best way to store ebooks? In a perfect world, I'd be able to store them in a completly open format [html?], covert and dump them onto whatever reader I am using at the time without having to worry too much with formating.

So, have any of you guys came up with any good ideas on developing an ebook library that works well with our existign readers, but will also allow relatively easy path of conversion, etc for use with future formats/readers?
kelchm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 10:14 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Various
libprs500
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 07-15-2007, 10:15 PM   #3
RWood
Technogeezer