Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre Companion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-10-2014, 01:18 PM   #1
chaley
Grumpy old git
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
chaley's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,970
Karma: 3559293
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Device: Reader
Adding Yes/No column to the grouping drawer

Moderator Notice
I am moving this from private messages to a thread so I can add attachments, and so that others can chime in if they see something I missed.


From CC-Peter:

I read your description how to add custom columns to grouping drawer in calibre companion. By the way: great app, that prevents to have two libriaries in parallel, one in calibre and another one in your reader app. It worked as described. Database has been reorganized and the new "Name" appears in grouping drawer. But unfortunately the content of this column from calibre (it´s a yes/no-parameter) does not appear. The custom column is visible in the datails of each book (green arrow for "yes" and no entry for "no") but in the grouping drawer just the name appears, tapping it does not show e.g. Yes<45>, NO<15>.
Or do I understand the intent of adding custom columns completely wrong. What I want is to bring a user defined Yes/No-parameter from calibre to CC to group on it.
CC for itself contains a read-flag, but this will not be transferred back to calibre. So I generated "Read Yes/No" in calibre for grouping.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 01:20 PM   #2
chaley
Grumpy old git
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
chaley's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,970
Karma: 3559293
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Device: Reader
Quote:
Originally Posted by CC-Peter
Hello,
I read your description how to add custom columns to grouping drawer in calibre companion. By the way: great app, that prevents to have two libriaries in parallel, one in calibre and another one in your reader app. It worked as described.
Thanks for the kind words.
Quote:
Database has been reorganized and the new "Name" appears in grouping drawer. But unfortunately the content of this column from calibre (it´s a yes/no-parameter) does not appear. The custom column is visible in the datails of each book (green arrow for "yes" and no entry for "no") but in the grouping drawer just the name appears, tapping it does not show e.g. Yes<45>, NO<15>.
I assume you are running CC V3.4.4?

Almost certainly you have not typed the correct lookup name of the yes/no column into CC. What you types should look something like "#mycolumn/Column name". The #mycolumn must be exactly the same as you see in calibre if you hover your mouse pointer over the column heading. The "/Column name" is optional.

The next release will show a list of columns where you choose the ones you want, eliminating the problem of typographical errors.
Quote:
Or do I understand the intent of adding custom columns completely wrong. What I want is to bring a user defined Yes/No-parameter from calibre to CC to group on it.
It seems that you correctly understand what should happen, and what will happen when the lookup name is entered correctly.
Quote:
CC for itself contains a read-flag, but this will not be transferred back to calibre. So I generated "Read Yes/No" in calibre for grouping.
This I do not understand. CC can sync its read information back to a calibre yes/no column, and its read date information back to a calibre date column. In CC's settings, scroll down until you see the "Marking Books Read" section. There are two settings there, one for the read information and one for the read date information. You enter the lookup name of the calibre custom yes/no column into one setting and the lookup name of the calibre custom date column into the other setting.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-10-2014, 01:21 PM   #3
chaley
Grumpy old git
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
chaley's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,970
Karma: 3559293
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Device: Reader
From CC-Peter:

If you advise me how to open a diskussion, we could start again with my first question to make this issue public. Otherwise here my answer:
Version is 3.4.4 of course.
I also assumed wrong entry of name, but it is not fact as I can see.
The column name is "Gelesen".
When I enter "#Gelesen" and confirm this, I find "#gelesen". I also entered "#Gelesen/Gelesen", this will me mirrored as "#gelesen/Gelesen".
The capital letter will be changed in any case.
So I also to change the column name in calibre to "gelesen", because I assumed that CC cannot cope with capital letters. The metadata have been transmitted but the behaviour is the same as described above.
the group "Gelesen" or "gelesen" is empty in any case.
Peter
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 01:32 PM   #4
chaley
Grumpy old git
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
chaley's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,970
Karma: 3559293
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Device: Reader
Quote:
I also assumed wrong entry of name, but it is not fact as I can see.
The column name is "Gelesen".
When I enter "#Gelesen" and confirm this, I find "#gelesen". I also entered "#Gelesen/Gelesen", this will me mirrored as "#gelesen/Gelesen".
The capital letter will be changed in any case.
So I also to change the column name in calibre to "gelesen", because I assumed that CC cannot cope with capital letters. The metadata have been transmitted but the behaviour is the same as described above.
the group "Gelesen" or "gelesen" is empty in any case.
To find the correct spelling of the lookup name, go to calibre. Put your mouse pointer over the column heading of the "Gelesen" column. You will see the lookup name in a popup box. This screen capture shows you what it will look like.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard01.jpg
Views:	243
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	129474
You then put that name spelled in exactly the same way into CC, as shown in this screen capture.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard02.jpg
Views:	253
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	129475
If all goes well then you will see something like this in the grouping drawer
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard03.jpg
Views:	259
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	129476
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 02:03 PM   #5
CC-Peter
Member
CC-Peter began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2014
Device: Tolino
Thanks,
meantime I found out the same: The column name is "Read", the search name "read", tricky..
Now I determined in "Sync column for read" "#read" and after synchronizing these data fields seem to be matched. But not completely: When I change in calibre, it will be transferred to CC, but when I change the flag in CC, it will NOT be changed in calibre...
CC-Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-10-2014, 05:44 PM   #6
chaley
Grumpy old git
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
chaley's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,970
Karma: 3559293
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Device: Reader
Quote:
Originally Posted by CC-Peter View Post
Thanks,
meantime I found out the same: The column name is "Read", the search name "read", tricky..
Now I determined in "Sync column for read" "#read" and after synchronizing these data fields seem to be matched. But not completely: When I change in calibre, it will be transferred to CC, but when I change the flag in CC, it will NOT be changed in calibre...
What column name are you referring to? CC does not choose the name of the yes/no column in calibre. It is up to you to choose which column is used for syncing. Have you created a column with the lookup name "#read"?

CC does sync both directions (from calibre and to calibre), unless you have checked the box asking that it sync only one way. This screen capture shows that option.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard01.jpg
Views:	279
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	129480  
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 03:20 AM   #7
CC-Peter
Member
CC-Peter began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2014
Device: Tolino
Hello,
the box is checked of course, otherwise I could not change the flag in CC.
The column name is "Read" and the search name is "#read". I use the last one in "sync column for read", and as I already mentioned the contents of "Read" in calibre will appear in book details: custom column "Read" will have a green check or it´s empty, Read-Flag from CC will be "Yes" or "No". When I change Read-Flag from CC, it will not be transferred back to calibre.
By the way: it seems to be a one way connection anyway. Option "Scan on connect" is checked, but when there is a new book available in calibre, this will not be noticed oand transferred automatically. I have to push it from calibre manually.
I could attach a screenshot for better understanding, but I do not find how to do (just entering a URL is possible, not from local).
Peter
CC-Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 04:21 AM   #8
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 17,530
Karma: 20473555
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by CC-Peter View Post
I could attach a screenshot for better understanding, but I do not find how to do (just entering a URL is possible, not from local).Peter
@CC-Peter - go into Advanced mode, scroll down until you see Manage Attachments

Also see Posting Messages - Attachments and Images

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 05:49 AM   #9
chaley
Grumpy old git
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
chaley's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,970
Karma: 3559293
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Device: Reader
Quote:
Originally Posted by CC-Peter View Post
Hello,
the box is checked of course, otherwise I could not change the flag in CC.
You must mean "unchecked".
Quote:
The column name is "Read" and the search name is "#read". I use the last one in "sync column for read", and as I already mentioned the contents of "Read" in calibre will appear in book details: custom column "Read" will have a green check or it´s empty, Read-Flag from CC will be "Yes" or "No". When I change Read-Flag from CC, it will not be transferred back to calibre.
Then something is not set up correctly.

To sync CC's read information back to calibre:
1) You must create a yes/no custom column in calibre. Make a note of the lookup name. In this example the lookup name I am using is #mybool
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard01.jpg
Views:	267
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	129512

2) In CC's settings go to the Marking Books Read section and tap on Sync column for Read
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard02.jpg
Views:	246
Size:	72.0 KB
ID:	129513

3) Enter the exact spelling of the lookup name of the calibre yes/no custom column in the dialog box.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard03.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	46.6 KB
ID:	129514

4) You now see the lookup name of the calibre column in CC's settings.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard04.jpg
Views:	268
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	129515

From this point on, when you connect as a wireless device CC's read information will be sent to calibre and put into the custom column with the lookup name you used, in this example #mybool. Information in that custom column will be sent to CC and put into CC's read info.
Quote:
By the way: it seems to be a one way connection anyway. Option "Scan on connect" is checked, but when there is a new book available in calibre, this will not be noticed oand transferred automatically. I have to push it from calibre manually.
"Scan on connect" tells CC to look in the books folders on the device to see if there are books that are not in CC's database. It has no effect on calibre. You are correct, when using the wireless device connection you must push books to CC from calibre. You can use the calibre reading list plugin to automate some things, but I suggest that you don't do that until you have CC & calibre talking to each other correctly.
Quote:
I could attach a screenshot for better understanding, but I do not find how to do (just entering a URL is possible, not from local).
Peter
BetterRed answered this one.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 06:36 AM   #10
CC-Peter
Member
CC-Peter began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2014
Device: Tolino
I did it exactly this way you described. My problem at first was that the column name "Read" and the lookup name "read" were the same for me. But this is solved, when you exchange your "#mybool" with my "#read", your and my screenshots are exactly identically. The mistery is that changes in calibre from yes to no or vice versus will be synchronized to CC´s read flag, but changes of this flag, done in CC, will not be synchronzid back to calibre. The first working part shows me that the configuration must be ok. May it be that "read" in CC "Read" as column name and "#read" as lookup name may cause the trouble? I will try another column and lookup name which is completely different to "read". It might be not very proable, but we will see...
CC-Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 06:54 AM   #11
CC-Peter
Member
CC-Peter began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2014
Device: Tolino
If you believe it or not: I deleted the current custom name "Read" with lookup name "#read" and generated a new one name: "Gelesen", lookup name "#leseflag" and entered it in CC. And now synchronization in both direction works...
May there were too many "reads" in the play?!
Thanks a lot for your support!
Peter
CC-Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 07:07 AM   #12
chaley
Grumpy old git
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
chaley's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,970
Karma: 3559293
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Device: Reader
EDIT: This post isn't needed because CC-Peter already solved his problem. I will leave it just in case it helps someone else.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CC-Peter View Post
I did it exactly this way you described. My problem at first was that the column name "Read" and the lookup name "read" were the same for me. But this is solved, when you exchange your "#mybool" with my "#read", your and my screenshots are exactly identically. The mistery is that changes in calibre from yes to no or vice versus will be synchronized to CC´s read flag, but changes of this flag, done in CC, will not be synchronzid back to calibre. The first working part shows me that the configuration must be ok. May it be that "read" in CC "Read" as column name and "#read" as lookup name may cause the trouble? I will try another column and lookup name which is completely different to "read". It might be not very proable, but we will see...
But it does sync from CC to calibre and from calibre to CC. The following screen captures show this.

1) This first screen capture shows what is in calibre. The #mybool column is marked with read. You will see that 1632 is not marked read and 20,000 leagues under the see is marked read.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard01.jpg
Views:	257
Size:	23.1 KB
ID:	129517

2) This screen shows CC after having connected to calibre as a wireless device. You see that here as well, 1632 is not marked read and 20,000 leagues is marked read.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard02.jpg
Views:	275
Size:	34.8 KB
ID:	129518

3) I now in CC change the value of read for 20,000 leagues from yes to no, and then connect.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard04.jpg
Views:	273
Size:	34.9 KB
ID:	129519

4) This screen capture shows calibre's data after the connect. 20,000 leagues has changed from Yes to No.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard05.jpg
Views:	259
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	129520

5) In calibre, I now change 1632 from empty to Read (Yes).
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard06.jpg
Views:	254
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	129521

6) Next I connect CC to calibre as a wireless device. The book 1632 changes to Read. 20,000 leagues does not change.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard07.jpg
Views:	234
Size:	36.3 KB
ID:	129522

7) CC's grouping drawer shows this information.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard08.jpg
Views:	236
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	129523

These screen captures were done with CC V3.4.4 and calibre 2.5.

What version of calibre are you running?

Last edited by chaley; 10-11-2014 at 07:10 AM.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 07:25 AM   #13
CC-Peter
Member
CC-Peter began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2014
Device: Tolino
Versions are CC 3.4.4 and calibre: 2.5.0
Thanks again!
CC-Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grouping does not work for custom column type ratings comox Calibre Companion 2 09-24-2014 01:54 PM
Adding a column to main view Ma'am-I-Am Library Management 8 07-06-2014 11:39 PM
Adding books to custom column Gazella Calibre 2 12-27-2012 11:28 AM
[Old Thread] Adding new column to sort by filename ShinRa Actual Library Management 20 02-12-2012 10:22 AM
Adding 'Series Number' column. polkij Library Management 2 10-08-2011 06:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.