![]() |
#1 |
Groupie
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 168
Karma: 31650
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Asuncion (Paraguay)
Device: In the house, 3 K3 in use, 4 more in storage, and a K5 for testing
|
Running calibredb from a cron script (SOLVED)
Complete newbee in the use of calibredb.
Simple question: I want to run a calibredb list -f ...... once a month from a cron job to generate an up-to-date csv list of all my books. Do I need to run calibre-server before running calibredb ? and is there somewhere a howto to guide the hesitant newbees ? Last edited by rolgiati; 03-03-2019 at 09:54 AM. Reason: Marking as solved |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 | |
null operator (he/him)
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 21,583
Karma: 29709834
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
|
You don't have to run calibre_server to use calibredb, see ==>> calibredb command
Quote:
Last edited by BetterRed; 03-01-2019 at 03:36 PM. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#3 |
Groupie
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 168
Karma: 31650
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Asuncion (Paraguay)
Device: In the house, 3 K3 in use, 4 more in storage, and a K5 for testing
|
Thanks; that's just what I needed.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Groupie
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 168
Karma: 31650
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Asuncion (Paraguay)
Device: In the house, 3 K3 in use, 4 more in storage, and a K5 for testing
|
Again running calibredb from a cron script (SOLVED)
I am looking for an answer to either of the following two questions:
When running calibredb catalog is there a way torestrict the fields listed in the output ? OR When running calibredb list -f "authors, title, series" is there a way to avoid the fields in the output being padded with spaces to a fixed length, and the lines prefixed with a reference number ? Last edited by rolgiati; 03-03-2019 at 09:53 AM. Reason: Marking as solved |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Well trained by Cats
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 30,861
Karma: 59840450
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
id is the reference number in Calibre the matches a specific line item
|
![]() |
![]() |
Advert | |
|
![]() |
#6 |
Grand Sorcerer
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 13,237
Karma: 78869092
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Libra H2O, Libra Colour
|
See the manual https://manual.calibre-ebook.com/gen...calibredb.html
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 | |
Groupie
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 168
Karma: 31650
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Asuncion (Paraguay)
Device: In the house, 3 K3 in use, 4 more in storage, and a K5 for testing
|
Quote:
Maybe I'll have to stick with calibredb list, followed by a sed job to remove the unwanted padding spaces.... |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 | |
null operator (he/him)
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 21,583
Karma: 29709834
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
|
Quote:
I don't know anything about the catalog sub command. But if it's like the one in the GUI then I think it's aimed at producing glossy presentation catalogues with cover images, fancy typesetting etc. BR Last edited by BetterRed; 03-03-2019 at 06:41 AM. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 | ||
Groupie
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 168
Karma: 31650
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Asuncion (Paraguay)
Device: In the house, 3 K3 in use, 4 more in storage, and a K5 for testing
|
Quote:
Mind that the --separator is ignored when --for-machine is used. Quote:
Still I might go that way, with an awk job to remove all the unwanted fluff. So although our help did not, thank you for taking the time. PS I am rolgiati... |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#10 |
creator of calibre
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 45,128
Karma: 27110892
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
calibredb catalog test.csv --fields=title,authors
For more information: calibredb catalog test.csv --help |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#11 | |
Groupie
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 168
Karma: 31650
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Asuncion (Paraguay)
Device: In the house, 3 K3 in use, 4 more in storage, and a K5 for testing
|
Quote:
Just adding now a mixture of sed, grep, sort and awk jobs to modify the formatting, and I'll have what I wanted / needed. Something like Code:
sed 's/,\"\"//p'| sed 's/\",\"/ \# /p' | sed 's/\",\"/ \/ /gp'| sed 's/\"//gp' | sort -u | grep -v authors | awk -F# '{print $2}' > Catalog$LIB |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#12 |
Groupie
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 168
Karma: 31650
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Asuncion (Paraguay)
Device: In the house, 3 K3 in use, 4 more in storage, and a K5 for testing
|
Yet again running calibredb from a cron script
Now that my script is running as wished to produce the catalog files I wanted, a new problem has arisen:
For the calibredb-based script to run, calibre must not be running. So just in case it is running when the cron-job is launched, I have tried to stop it from the script, with pkill calibre, pkill /opt/calibre/bin/calibre, etc run either as user or as root. only pkill /opt/calibre/bin/calibre-parallel stopped something, nothing else works. Any idea ? |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#13 |
null operator (he/him)
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 21,583
Karma: 29709834
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
|
try calibre -s
And try RingTFM for heaven's sake Moderator Notice I merged your three threads so that anyone coming along later can read the saga of cron and calibre in one fell swoop. ![]() BR Last edited by BetterRed; 03-05-2019 at 04:07 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#14 |
Groupie
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posts: 168
Karma: 31650
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Asuncion (Paraguay)
Device: In the house, 3 K3 in use, 4 more in storage, and a K5 for testing
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
calibredb cannot add with content server running | apiontek | Calibre | 10 | 08-04-2017 04:50 AM |
Calibredb not working when GUI is running | webdjoe | Calibre | 9 | 07-26-2017 04:29 AM |
CalibreDB not running on my environment | JackED42 | Devices | 4 | 10-03-2016 02:25 AM |
Running multiple calibredb add jobs simultaneously. | AVaughan | Library Management | 3 | 10-18-2015 10:16 AM |
Option for 'calibredb' to *not* notify a running Calibre GUI? | mbovenka | Development | 4 | 11-08-2012 04:30 AM |