Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Formats > ePub

Notices

Old 01-04-2011, 03:11 PM   #1
jmatthew
jmatthew began at the beginning.

Device: kindle, sony reader, kobo
Epub works fine on Reader, fails epubcheck spectacularly

Hi,

Complete noob here, but hoping someone can point me in the right direction, since my web searches haven't been fruitful.

My book is out in print, and I managed to create a kindle version, which has been available in the Kindle store for a good year (it's a choose-your-own-adventure, so requires page links and chapter breaks on almost every page)

I recently used Calibre to convert the kindle prc into an epub, and the result reads beautifully on my Sony Reader. However, it fails epubcheck SPECTACULARLY with 694 errors (the Nook bookstore seems to have no problem with this, but to get it in the iBook store it needs to pass).

The vast majority of the errors are:

element "a" from namespace "http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" not allowed in this context

(Although sometimes it's a p element or a div element). The docs read fine in a browser, so my html can't be all that messed up.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance for any advice!

Matt

Last edited by jmatthew; 01-04-2011 at 03:15 PM.
jmatthew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 03:24 PM   #2
KevinH
Sigil Developer
KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KevinH ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: many
Hi,