Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2024, 04:55 AM   #1
paulrw
Enthusiast
paulrw began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 30
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Liverpool, England
Device: Kindle keyboard, Kindle Oasis, iPhone, iPad, PC
Calibre won't start (win10)

or rather starts but won't display. I have tried running as admin, and with plugins disabled, as well as uninstalling and reinstalling. As far as I am aware, Calibre was already running when this started, and there was nothing new on the computer, no new installs or changes. Alt tab to switch to Calibre shows a blank white window with the calibre title, but the window doesn't activate. I have also tried deleting the metadata.db file. Debug info attached, note
ApplicationPaletteChange event message continues to display every minute or two
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Calibre debug.png
Views:	42
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	208735  
paulrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2024, 04:58 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 44,030
Karma: 22669822
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Do you have the calibre system trayicon enabled?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 06-07-2024, 11:42 AM   #3
paulrw
Enthusiast
paulrw began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 30
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Liverpool, England
Device: Kindle keyboard, Kindle Oasis, iPhone, iPad, PC
No, not as far as I know - I have Calibre pinned to the task bar and just leave it there. Right clicking on the icon shows all the normal stuff, and when I imported a book using the link from a right click, the import seemed to work according to the debug screen. rather worryingly I notice that the debug screen now says "started up in 3.22 sec with 0 books". I am not sure at what point it lost track of the library - the library is still there I should say, as is the backup I took as soon as this started. For the sake of completeness I should also mention I have restarted the PC after reinstalling Calibre.
paulrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2024, 07:07 PM   #4
BetterRed
null operator (he/him)
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 20,696
Karma: 26966376
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrw View Post
or rather starts but won't display. I have tried running as admin, and with plugins disabled, as well as uninstalling and reinstalling. As far as I am aware, Calibre was already running when this started, and there was nothing new on the computer, no new installs or changes. Alt tab to switch to Calibre shows a blank white window with the calibre title, but the window doesn't activate. I have also tried deleting the metadata.db file. Debug info attached, note
ApplicationPaletteChange event message continues to display every minute or two
The presence of a metadata.db file IS what defines a folder (directory) as a calibre library

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrw View Post
No, not as far as I know - I have Calibre pinned to the task bar and just leave it there. Right clicking on the icon shows all the normal stuff,
I too run calibre from the task bar.

What 'normal stuff' - all I see when calibre is running is this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2024-06-08 083701.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	208744

If it's not running there's no Close window

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrw View Post
and when I imported a book using the link from a right click, the import seemed to work according to the debug screen.
. . .
What link from which right click, AFAIK the calibre library manager doesn't maintain anything resembling a Most Recently used list

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2024, 01:37 AM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 44,030
Karma: 22669822
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Its probably just offscreen as described in the FAQ: https://manual.calibre-ebook.com/faq...ing-on-windows
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 06-11-2024, 06:51 AM   #6
paulrw
Enthusiast
paulrw began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 30
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Liverpool, England
Device: Kindle keyboard, Kindle Oasis, iPhone, iPad, PC
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterRed View Post

What 'normal stuff' - all I see when calibre is running is this:
BR
What I see is shown below


Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterRed View Post
What link from which right click, AFAIK the calibre library manager doesn't maintain anything resembling a Most Recently used list
BR
again, see attachment.

In fact, a repair to windows allowed me to reposition the widow onto the screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Calibre.png
Views:	23
Size:	7.1 KB
ID:	208804  
paulrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2024, 06:20 PM   #7
BetterRed
null operator (he/him)
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 20,696
Karma: 26966376
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrw View Post
What I see is shown below
I think I figured out why you get an MRU list on the calibre taskbar shortcut and I don't. You Add books by opening format files with calibre.exe (the library manager), whereas I've taken steps to prevent me doing that

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrw View Post
In fact, a repair to windows allowed me to reposition the widow onto the screen.


BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre won't start davidsmartin Calibre 5 10-10-2022 01:19 PM
Calibre won't start Rellwood Calibre 3 09-03-2021 06:14 PM
Calibre Won't Start Spydarr Calibre 0 06-23-2015 09:14 PM
Calibre won't start Odyssee Calibre 24 05-01-2015 01:27 AM
Calibre won't start up hwhovis Calibre 3 02-04-2011 03:45 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.