Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2019, 08:56 AM   #376
-beluga-
Junior Member
-beluga- began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2013
Device: paperwhite
Hi, not sure this is the ideal place to post this but -

I just upgraded from Calibre 3.48.0 (32bit) to Calibre 4.1.0 (64bit). Currently trying to run in parallel to see if plugins and all work.

However, starting the 64bit app (also from exe in Program Files) still opens the 32bit app (in Program Files (x86))

How do I get the 64bit app to start?

Thanks
-beluga- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 09:37 AM   #377
jackie_w
Grand Sorcerer
jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jackie_w ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,113
Karma: 11878858
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Device: PRS-350, Kobo: Aura6", H2O, GloHD, KA1, ClaraHD, Forma
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackie_w View Post
In calibre 3.99.7 this feature works for images in <img> tags but not for images between <svg> tags, unless it's the cover image.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Forgot about svg images, easy fix.
@kovid,

Did I misunderstand your reply? Except for the cover image, an image wrapped in <svg> tags does not have the 'View image', 'Copy image' options in v4.1 Viewer.
jackie_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 10:18 AM   #378
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,740
Karma: 27620664
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: K4NT, Galaxy Tab A, Kobo Aura2
Quote:
Originally Posted by -beluga- View Post
Hi, not sure this is the ideal place to post this but -

I just upgraded from Calibre 3.48.0 (32bit) to Calibre 4.1.0 (64bit). Currently trying to run in parallel to see if plugins and all work.

However, starting the 64bit app (also from exe in Program Files) still opens the 32bit app (in Program Files (x86))

How do I get the 64bit app to start?

Thanks
Are you sure? Because a normal x64 install puts its files into Program files (and 32Bit goes into the (x86) one.
The status line in Calibre only gains a: [64bit]
the rest is identical looking
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 04:38 PM   #379
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 14,649
Karma: 12617198
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by -beluga- View Post
Hi, not sure this is the ideal place to post this but -

I just upgraded from Calibre 3.48.0 (32bit) to Calibre 4.1.0 (64bit). Currently trying to run in parallel to see if plugins and all work.

However, starting the 64bit app (also from exe in Program Files) still opens the 32bit app (in Program Files (x86))

How do I get the 64bit app to start?

Thanks
You should have two desktop shortcuts. One for the 64bit version the other for the 32 bit version - the names will be something like calibre 64bit - E-book management and calibre - E-book management. What do you see in the Start Menu 'C' group, you should see two folders with those names?

Do you have a Calibre 2 sub folders in Program Files and Program Files (x86) folders?

Did you install the two versions in their default locations? Did you change deselect any Product Features, especially the one that creates a desktop shortcut?

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 10:41 AM   #380
-beluga-
Junior Member
-beluga- began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2013
Device: paperwhite
Hi guys. Yes I know, and that's what I am trying to say...

But I found my issue

I had Calibre set to auto-start and hide the icon, so the 3.48 process was still running after closing the UI... Starting the 64 bit exe just 'activated' the running process to open the UI. Killing the 32 bit process and starting the 64 bit exe indeed starts the 64 bit process - and saves my sanity.

Cheers.
-beluga- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 01:32 PM   #381
deback
Book E d i t o r
deback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the enddeback knows the complete value of PI to the end
 
Posts: 307
Karma: 31930
Join Date: May 2015
Device: Laptop
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
@deback: I cannot replicate that.
This is in regards to the slowness in the File Preview in the Editor.

I upgraded to 4.1, and the problem still exists. I don't know how my system could be the problem, since this problem has never existed in any versions before 4.0. I have no AV software, and my system had all the best hardware parts when I built it in November 2017.

Just wanted to let you know that the problem still exists after each edit--the file preview window will bounce from using no .css file to using the current .css file (so, I've decided to just ignore it).

Thanks.
deback is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Android App] Calibre Companion 1.7 Beta testing Adoby Devices 31 09-07-2012 10:13 PM
Kobo Wifi beta testing mdclements Kobo Reader 0 10-15-2011 03:49 PM
Beta testing libprs500's new GUI kovidgoyal Calibre 409 01-07-2009 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.