Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Old 09-13-2015, 06:40 PM   #1
Rellwood
Library Breeder (She/Her)
Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rellwood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Kobo Aura HD (1) PW3 (4) PW3 2019 new edition (1)
Understanding Virtual Libraries

I have been using Calibre for two years now, and still don't understand how the virtual libraries work. I have a pretty extensive library with different genres from American History to Urban Fantasy. Unfortunately, the only thing I know how to do to break it up is to just make new libraries and shuttle books between them. This is a PAIN because then the columns don't match and I have different metadata for the same books, etc.

I have tried to use the virtual libraries, but

1) I don't understand how they work beyond knowing they partition books from a main source;

2) the fact that I cannot simply highlight a book, and using the context menu add them to a pre-created empty virtual library.

The fact that I have to use the search feature (which I suck at too), that doesn't take genre (custom column) into consideration makes it difficult for those who simply want to click on a book and say "add to XXX virtual library".